Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

First Engine Start

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

First Engine Start

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2015, 05:48 PM
ETpilot

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts
Default First Engine Start

In about 30-40 years. As I have posted in a few threads, I am a returning RC Pilot. I started the journey in June last year hoping to fly by October. Well, things just get in the way.

But, today I got to start my OS engine. It went well with a few minor problems. I couldn't figure out fuel flow direction on fuel filter so I had to open it up. Spinner came off on first start attempt. Flooded engine. Had to check for hydro lock. Didn't know the glow igniter had a twist to lock feature. took a while to figure how to get it off. Just minor stuff.

Then the the engine started and I went thru the run in procedure for a full tank. It sure felt good. The fuel smell brought back memories. Hope to have a plane in the air next week. Then the more difficult starts.

I made a simple engine test stand and also a temporary fueling station.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	400
Size:	1.12 MB
ID:	2061358   Click image for larger version

Views:	192
Size:	1.55 MB
ID:	2061359  
Old 01-05-2015, 07:54 PM
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Welcome back to the passion ET (and don't forget to phone home) May your olfactory nerves never be deprived of the sweet smell of burning glow fuel agine for such a long time.

Looks like an AX and you could not have made a better choice. will be looking forward to your continuing adventure.

John

Last edited by JohnBuckner; 01-05-2015 at 07:57 PM. Reason: to repair my pathetic spelling
Old 01-05-2015, 08:39 PM
Tom Nied

Received 22 Likes on 21 Posts