Notices
Control Lines For all you fly-by-wire fanatics!

Foam Wing Ringmaster?

Old 12-21-2014, 08:15 AM
  #1  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 167
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Foam Wing Ringmaster?

I cut out and sheeted a pair of Ringmaster foam wings. They turned out well. Does the bellcrank have to be mounted inside the wing? I can do it but don't want to if I don't have to. What determines the lead out exit point, is it the thrust line? Can the bellcrank be mounted outside the wing and then rout the lead outs through the middle of the wing tip?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ringmaster Parts 003.JPG
Views:	260
Size:	682.7 KB
ID:	2056628  
Old 12-22-2014, 08:14 PM
  #2  
 
BrightGarden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Hudson Valley. New York. USA
Posts: 283
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

The subject is above my pay grade, but I'm watching this... Very interesting.
Old 12-22-2014, 11:36 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tokyo, JAPAN
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

>Does the bellcrank have to be mounted inside the wing?
No. You can mount the bellcrank anywhere you want.

>What determines the lead out exit point, is it the thrust line?
No. It is C/G.

>Can the bellcrank be mounted outside the wing and then rout the lead outs through the middle of the wing tip?
Maybe possible, but extremly difficult.
Why don't you mount the bellcrank and the leadouts inside the wing?
Or, mount the bellcrank and the leadouts outside the wing?

Aki
Old 12-23-2014, 11:58 AM
  #4  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 167
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by adanjo
>Does the bellcrank have to be mounted inside the wing?
No. You can mount the bellcrank anywhere you want.

>What determines the lead out exit point, is it the thrust line?
No. It is C/G.

>Can the bellcrank be mounted outside the wing and then rout the lead outs through the middle of the wing tip?
Maybe possible, but extremly difficult.
Why don't you mount the bellcrank and the leadouts inside the wing?
Or, mount the bellcrank and the leadouts outside the wing?

Aki
Okay so I can mount the bellcrank and the leadout under the wing? That's my preferred method.
Old 12-23-2014, 03:44 PM
  #5  
 
aspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ruthven, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,460
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

The leadouts should be slightly behind the CofG, so the plane doesn't point in at you. It should point slightly nose down when hanging by the leadouts. Height isn't too important unless it is a very high or low wing. Inside or outside of the wing is just asthetics. Bellcrank position isn't as important as the leadout position.
Old 12-23-2014, 05:04 PM
  #6  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 167
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by aspeed
The leadouts should be slightly behind the CofG, so the plane doesn't point in at you. It should point slightly nose down when hanging by the leadouts. Height isn't too important unless it is a very high or low wing. Inside or outside of the wing is just asthetics. Bellcrank position isn't as important as the leadout position.
Sounds reasonable. Thanks
Old 12-23-2014, 05:06 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tokyo, JAPAN
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ochsnm00
Okay so I can mount the bellcrank and the leadout under the wing? That's my preferred method.
I suppose the underside maybe better than the overside because a muffler and the landing gears are below the wing (= C/G may be slightly under the center of wing).

If you only like the looks of Ringmasters, you should move the wing 1/2" or so up but it was too late.

Aki
Old 01-26-2015, 06:27 PM
  #8  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Harriburg, PA
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I've got foam wings for the S-1 Ringmaster or the S-2 built up wing(slightly thicker and no reflex to the wing). $15 a set and also plans for a lightweight version with a foam core fuselage.

home.earthlink.net/~philcartier
Old 01-30-2015, 03:24 AM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 24
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I really enjoy making built-up wings. for the beginner a foam wing and external bellcrank is very practical. I took out the wing of my Ringmaster last season and replaced it with foam wing sets.
Old 01-30-2015, 07:31 PM
  #10  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 167
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Kipp Louis
I really enjoy making built-up wings. for the beginner a foam wing and external bellcrank is very practical. I took out the wing of my Ringmaster last season and replaced it with foam wing sets.
How is the bellcrank mounted on your wing?
Old 01-31-2015, 10:14 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 1,247
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

As an old time Ringmaster owner, I'd recommend under the wing. My original had them inside. Sold that plane with a McCoy .35 in 1967 or so. It flew very well.
(A national guardsman needed something to do in his spare time at camp.) That was the last control line model I owned!
The bell crank had a ball bearing, and the McCoy a flapper throttle using a third line. (Spring loaded open)
Old 02-03-2015, 01:51 AM
  #12  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 24
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ochsnm00
How is the bellcrank mounted on your wing?

Believe me, it wasn't all that much, Lot of search for this and tried but not so accurate. I have seen some video on making. I always prefer adjustable controls and put them in kit built and scratch built planes. it cost less,
Believe me, it wasn't all that much, Lot of search for this and tried but not so accurate. I have seen some video on making. I always prefer adjustable controls and put them in kit built and scratch built planes. it cost less,

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.