Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Universe Support > Forum questions or problems
Reload this Page >

For God's Sake...TURN OFF INLINE ATTACHMENTS!!!

Notices
Forum questions or problems Post any questions about how to use the forum or any bugs/problems you may be having in this forum.

For God's Sake...TURN OFF INLINE ATTACHMENTS!!!

Old 10-04-2018, 04:00 AM
  #1  
T3chDad
Thread Starter
 
T3chDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 258
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default For God's Sake...TURN OFF INLINE ATTACHMENTS!!!

Just look through any thread with picture attachments. Someone posts 5 huge images and then you get to scroll past the same images 10 more times due to the quoted replies. Please explain the benefit over having clickable thumbnails of the attachments at the bottom of posts.

Thank you!
Old 10-04-2018, 08:36 AM
  #2  
rgburrill
 
rgburrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Tx CT
Posts: 2,308
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Man it is so difficult to click through photos that are quoted. I don't know how I will be able to survive the horror of it.
Old 10-04-2018, 10:22 AM
  #3  
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 9,963
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Being able to click past it doesn't make it less annoying,, asking for it to be how most forums display pics, namely thumb, isn't asking that much
Old 10-08-2018, 08:18 AM
  #4  
IBThomas
RETIRED; DO NOT PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

A lot of our users prefer to be able to see the pictures as they browse as opposed to having to click on individual thumbnails. Although we wish we can, we can't please everyone's personal preferences of browsing experience.
Old 10-08-2018, 10:10 PM
  #5  
mongo
My Feedback: (14)
 
mongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Midland, TX
Posts: 2,786
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

look into excluding them from quotes then...
Old 10-09-2018, 05:48 AM
  #6  
T3chDad
Thread Starter
 
T3chDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 258
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mongo View Post
look into excluding them from quotes then...
Yes. From the looks of the VBulletin config and BBCode, you had to go out of your way to include the inline attachments in quotes (maybe different in your version). I'm okay with inline attachments if they can be excluded from quotes.
Old 10-09-2018, 09:07 AM
  #7  
IBThomas
RETIRED; DO NOT PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by T3chDad View Post
Yes. From the looks of the VBulletin config and BBCode, you had to go out of your way to include the inline attachments in quotes (maybe different in your version). I'm okay with inline attachments if they can be excluded from quotes.
I'll bring this up with our team and see if it's something we can fit into an update.
Old 10-09-2018, 09:33 AM
  #8  
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 9,898
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by IBThomas View Post
A lot of our users prefer to be able to see the pictures as they browse as opposed to having to click on individual thumbnails. Although we wish we can, we can't please everyone's personal preferences of browsing experience.
I don’t remember seeing a poll or thread related to this issue. I find it quite annoying to read a thread that has several huge photos before the text of the post. It’s only compounded when a post with many photos are quoted so the photo count is automatically doubled. I have a feeling if the users were actually polled, the majority would favor clickable thumbnail images instead.

Last edited by 1QwkSport2.5r; 10-10-2018 at 06:28 AM. Reason: Fixed a typo.
Old 10-10-2018, 01:31 AM
  #9  
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 9,963
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

LOL.. Yeah, I'm calling BS on that

I'm betting it's putting lip stick on a pig,, probably a glitch they can't or don't know how to fix, No site does this but this one since the "up grade"
Old 10-10-2018, 10:13 AM
  #10  
mongo
My Feedback: (14)
 
mongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Midland, TX
Posts: 2,786
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

you saw how they managed to get the size thing working in the for sale stuff. they just defaulted the pic to full size in the add window, and just make you click it to be able to see the whole pic.
Old 10-11-2018, 03:58 AM
  #11  
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 9,963
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

RCtech, also a IB owned web site has the same format, it's annoying to say the least,, I don't know what the problem is,, Aren't these are just options on the admin control panel?,, should be easy to change to thumbs no?
Old 10-12-2018, 09:17 AM
  #12  
IBThomas
RETIRED; DO NOT PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I'll talk to our tech team and see if there's any thing we can do about the images.

However, I think the logic behind having the images appear in quotes is that it makes piecing a conversation together easier. While it can be annoying when there's a quote chain, it is helpful to be able to see the pictures quoted in a one off quote, or chain that is two participants deep. I'm unsure if we can "customize" the settings to such an extent where pictures will appear in one quote, but not a chain.
Old 10-12-2018, 09:55 AM
  #13  
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 9,898
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Why not poll the actual users of the forum asking whether they prefer inline images or thumbnails in threads and go from there. IIRC, thumbnails weren’t included in quotes prior to the update.
Old 12-01-2018, 07:37 AM
  #14  
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 9,898
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

(Crickets). Sad.
Old 12-01-2018, 01:45 PM
  #15  
T3chDad
Thread Starter
 
T3chDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 258
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Yeah...starting to think they're not capable of fixing it. I was obviously thumbnails at one time.
Old 12-01-2018, 11:35 PM
  #16  
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 9,898
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

I doubt it’s a matter if they can, but rather if they will. I have a hard time believing that something like that is a “hardwired” setting that cannot he changed. And this magical idea that most users would rather have it that way..... yeah right.

Old 12-02-2018, 04:08 PM
  #17  
T3chDad
Thread Starter
 
T3chDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 258
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Yup...pretty much. RCU...config/ui/behavior...(not content or community) pretty much sucks when coming from a well-managed, modern site. The only reason I still come here is the turbine community. I wish I could talk them into going somewhere else.
Old 12-04-2018, 11:14 PM
  #18  
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 9,898
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

I guess weíre the minorities in our thoughts on the subject. Call me snarky, but it sure would be nice if we at least had the option to turn the damn inline images off. For crying out loud, we can turn images off completely... I guess I turn images off and change settings when I need to view an image.

Oh well. Itís like fighting the government it seems. The folks that speak up and try to make a difference (voting) get stomped into a mud hole (because every candidate sucks, just in a different way. Some worse than others). The lesser of two evils they say.

Last edited by 1QwkSport2.5r; 12-04-2018 at 11:19 PM.
Old 12-06-2018, 10:18 AM
  #19  
IBThomas
RETIRED; DO NOT PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I'll talk to our tech team and see if there's a way we can create an option for you to not see quoted pictures.
Old 12-06-2018, 04:19 PM
  #20  
T3chDad
Thread Starter
 
T3chDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 258
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by IBThomas View Post
I'll talk to our tech team and see if there's a way we can create an option for you to not see quoted pictures.
Thank you.
Old 12-30-2018, 07:39 AM
  #21  
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 9,898
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

My biggest annoyance with the inline images - editing a post on a mobile device with images. Since the images attach to the TOP of the post, one must scroll 4-5 “lines” at a time screen after screen to scroll past the images and finally edit the text. Everyone uses mobile devices now. It’s a pain in the ass to force the images to be inline. They didn’t use to be like that and they aren’t inserted inline on the other big competing RC forum. They are/were thumbnailed and aren’t shown in the body of a post when editing. Please, for the love of sanity, consider going back to clickable thumbnailed images. I have little interest in posting images or really adding any further content until something changes.
Old 12-30-2018, 12:17 PM
  #22  
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 9,963
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Face it buddy,, they just don't care
Old 12-30-2018, 03:44 PM
  #23  
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 9,898
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by scale only 4 me View Post
Face it buddy,, they just don't care
Thatís the idea I get. Itís like a mom and pop shop getting overrun by corporate America.
Old 12-31-2018, 09:37 AM
  #24  
IBJoel
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 351
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

So you should be able to still technically do this. Just go here: http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/prof...do=editoptions

And select the Standard Editor for text editing and save. This isn't really supported, so it's more of a work around at this time.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	RCUattachments.JPG
Views:	24
Size:	60.8 KB
ID:	2263101  
Old 12-20-2019, 08:16 AM
  #25  
T3chDad
Thread Starter
 
T3chDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 258
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by IBJoel View Post
So you should be able to still technically do this. Just go here: http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/prof...do=editoptions

And select the Standard Editor for text editing and save. This isn't really supported, so it's more of a work around at this time.
OMG! I'm sorry I missed this post! Thank you. I just tested it and it works great. Now I won't have people quoting all of my images anymore. It will help making build and how-to threads much better.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.