Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

elevator programing

Old 12-29-2011, 04:38 PM
  #1  
cotman
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Summerfield, FL
Posts: 347
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default elevator programing

Building a Yak 54 55cc gasser..... my first gas plane. Each elevator has it own servo. Is it best to use a Y-Harness to control them or should I program them into my radio (using an Hitec Aurora 9 Transmitter). If I should program them into radio.... can someone explain how to do it. Thanks
Old 12-29-2011, 05:13 PM
  #2  
MetallicaJunkie
 
MetallicaJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Donna, TX
Posts: 5,463
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: elevator programing

stay away from Y's i dont own an Aurora but it has the option in there to use dual elevator and dual aileron servos
Old 12-29-2011, 07:13 PM
  #3  
2robinhood
Senior Member
 
2robinhood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Egg Harbor City, NJ
Posts: 760
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: elevator programing

Yep avoid the Y-harnesses.
I don't know anything about the Aurora 9 , but I am sure that it supports dual elevator servos.
Old 01-07-2012, 06:31 AM
  #4  
P47Tbolt
Senior Member
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Harlem, GA
Posts: 359
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: elevator programing

You would have to use a reversing Y with the elevators.with a regular Y they would be like ailerons.
Hitec digital servos can be reversed with a programmer and used with a regular Y.
But if the radio supports split elevators I would use it providing you are not using all the channels
already.
Old 01-07-2012, 08:42 AM
  #5  
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Happy Valley, Oregon
Posts: 8,315
Received 95 Likes on 88 Posts
Default RE: elevator programing

Go into the model type menu. Select ACRO and then it will give you a menu for wing and tail type. For tail select AILEVATR. This activates the mix. Not sure what channels to plug the servos into so you will have to experiment. From there you will be able to figure it out. It is also on page 102 of you manual
Old 01-07-2012, 04:59 PM
  #6  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,813
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default RE: elevator programing

ORIGINAL: speedracerntrixie

Go into the model type menu. Select ACRO and then it will give you a menu for wing and tail type. For tail select AILEVATR. This activates the mix. Not sure what channels to plug the servos into so you will have to experiment. From there you will be able to figure it out. It is also on page 102 of you manual
I'm no expert, but not sure I'd go that way. Maybe you end up with the same results going that way, dunno. Haven't tried it.

Check out the "Channel Menu". My manual has it on p.56

You go to "Channel Function" menu (available under the "system" tab, then "channel"), press one of the aux channels, then "select", and a second menu comes up with a selection of available functions. Press the one you want (ELE2), then "set". You're done!

I do this same thing for aileron and elevator as I have 2 servos for each on my planes. Use channel 5 for AIL2 and channel 6 for ELE2 works out pretty well for me.

Holler if this doesn't make any sense. Somebody else may be better at explaining it. It's MUCH easier to just do it vs. trying to tell somebody else. -Al

Old 01-08-2012, 05:15 AM
  #7  
bladebender
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: WATERFORD, MI
Posts: 495
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: elevator programing

way to go ahicks .good to see some of the club yesterday
Old 01-08-2012, 07:26 AM
  #8  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,813
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default RE: elevator programing

Old 01-08-2012, 11:53 AM
  #9  
Jezmo
Senior Member
 
Jezmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 2,132
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: elevator programing

Definitely want to use individual connections from the Elev and Ail servos back to the receiver. The Aurora 9 does all the needed mixing as ahicks points out above and that will allow you to marry the halves at center and full throw in each direction.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.