Advantage of 2 receivers?

Notices
IMAC Discuss IMAC style aerobatics in here

Advantage of 2 receivers?

Old 08-11-2003, 02:43 AM
hkyplr18

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advantage of 2 receivers?

I have noticed a lot of guys flying dual receivers in there aircraft. What is the real advantage of flying with 2 recievers? I can understand 2 batteries ,but 2 recievers? If you get a radio hit or someone shoots you down its going to effect both receivers. I have been flying RC for many years and I cant rememeber one time that I have had a reciever problem. If you fly 2 recievers you might as well have 2 transmitters, because what if your transmitter bites the dust? Just curious........
Old 08-11-2003, 05:17 AM
LS171Malibu
My Feedback: (16)

Redundancy...all full scale aircraft are designed with at least one redundant system. On a 757 there are a total of seven hydraulic pumps. And if for some reason both engines and the apu fail...there is a ram air powered pump that allow control of the ailerons and elevator.

Look past just radio interferance when you ask about having a second rx, like the second servo on each surface, batt, switch, wiring, and so on.
Old 08-11-2003, 05:19 AM
LS171Malibu

Sorry, I see you took into consideration for a battery.
Old 08-11-2003, 05:56 AM
hkyplr18