IMAC Discuss IMAC style aerobatics in here

Initiating Spin Entry

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2005, 03:54 PM
splais
My Feedback: (25)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Initiating Spin Entry

OK, I'm new to IMAC and just learing the Basic sequence. I have a 35% Yak with a DA100. Here is one of my many problems. Getting this plane to stall for spin entry. this plane flies so well (slow) that I can get all the way across the box before it even begins to get slow enough to stall. The plane will actually fly quit well at idol. Now part of the problem is that I am still breaking in the engine and I can probably get the idle down lower. But what is a good technique for inducing a stall for spin entry.
Old 07-18-2005, 05:07 PM
Laserdude
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Initiating Spin Entry

More elevator!
Old 07-18-2005, 05:16 PM
Luizinho
My Feedback: (10)

And then Left Ruder .
Old 07-18-2005, 09:47 PM
Ryans Rebel
My Feedback: (12)

More elvator and a left rudder to low throttle mix! It is acceptable for the models nose to pitch upwards provided the flight path is level. Kinda like transitioning from straight & level flight into a harrier (but stall instead of add power) without gaining or losing altitude prior to the stall.

Make sure you aren't too nose heavy. If you are, the model will not likely make a clean break. It may just mush over.

Ryan
Old 07-18-2005, 10:36 PM
chipwill

IMAC rules state that the nose must drop before rotation starts. Some planes will do this on their own while others like straight wing Edges hang on forever.

Two seperate things here to discus. First is getting the plane slowed down in a reasonable amount of time. The easiest way to do this is do a BIG Immelman before the spin. Make it large and your speed will naturally be lower and you can reduce throttle before you level out and perform the half roll.