Notices
RC Helicopter General Discussions Discuss RC Helis here. Nitro, gas, turbine and any make, model or brand not having its own specific forum below!

Physics of the Funnel?

Old 05-08-2010, 01:26 PM
helicub81

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Physics of the Funnel?

I'm kinda new at these helicopters and i have kinda mastered the basic things, like hovering nose out/nose in etc.... and from the sides too. Now i was wondering why when you do a funnel (upright, with the nose facing the center of the circle) the pilot has to push the cyclic in the opposite direction of the helicopter. For Instance, if the helicopter is flying to the left, why does the pilot push the right stick (mode 2 transmitter) to the right... I know this isn't exactly too important, but its been puzzling me for a while now.
Old 05-08-2010, 04:06 PM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 343 Likes on 274 Posts
Default RE: Physics of the Funnel?

http://www.littlerotors.com has some great articles on doing funnels.

I'm stuck on answering your question........lol........I just give the control input it needs
Old 05-10-2010, 11:55 PM
molokaiboy

I'm not sure if I understand your exact question, but the best explanation Ican come up with is.When flying an RC model, as faras the model being flown is concerned it's Right is always Right and Left is always Left. On the ground looking at our model we need to remember this. I have heard people term it as reversing.

Ihope Ianswered your question, and if Idid I'm glad Icould help. If Ididn't and Ijust added more confusion, please forgive me.

Aloha,
Les
Old 05-10-2010, 11:56 PM
helicub81

i kno, but like when you press right on teh transmitter, the heli goes left in funnel, but if it were just hovering, it would go right.
Old 05-12-2010, 08:29 PM
molokaiboy

Next best answe Ihave in the physics of a funnel.