Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Powerbox Core radio and set up thread.

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Powerbox Core radio and set up thread.

Old 08-01-2023, 09:13 AM
  #1776  
VINOLAS
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: senlis, FRANCE, METROPOLITAN
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi
I have 2 PBR-26D connected to the Mercury SR2 .
I could update the 2 PBR-26D via the ATOM.
What about the Mercury SR2 . I don't think it can be done via the ATOM as well .
If not ,what should be the procedure ?
regards
Alain
Old 08-01-2023, 09:18 AM
  #1777  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,913
Received 339 Likes on 271 Posts
Default

No, you need a USB cable and the terminal program.
Old 08-01-2023, 10:47 AM
  #1778  
VINOLAS
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: senlis, FRANCE, METROPOLITAN
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you
Would the Jeti USBa adapter do the job or do i need to buy the one from Powerbox?
Old 08-01-2023, 02:26 PM
  #1779  
wfield0455
My Feedback: (7)
 
wfield0455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 1,299
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

I used the Jeti USB dongle to upgrade a Pioneer so I think it's pretty likely.
Old 08-01-2023, 11:31 PM
  #1780  
VINOLAS
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: senlis, FRANCE, METROPOLITAN
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you
what about Operating system, transceiver and Stickcontroller Update on the Settings/System/Software on the Atom transmitter? When I touch the boxes ,it is all about recovery ,not update to a new version.
BTW,what is a Transceiver ?
Old 08-02-2023, 02:51 AM
  #1781  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,913
Received 339 Likes on 271 Posts
Default

The only thing needing updated is OS and Application
If the application is 3.2 its already up to date they haven't updated the OS to my knowledge
Old 08-02-2023, 05:58 AM
  #1782  
VINOLAS
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: senlis, FRANCE, METROPOLITAN
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you
I tried to update the Mercury via the Jeti USB adapter but no way to select the 'Update' item from the small screen menu to take control from my PC.
Page 10 of the Mercury SR2 instruction manual , I can read Reset/update as an option but the screen does not show the Update option inside the Reset sub menu...
Old 08-02-2023, 03:36 PM
  #1783  
Racer686
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Posts: 42
Received 16 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

I've just started experimenting with Attitude Assist on my AF MB-339, when I enable it on ailerons, the jet seems to roll slower at the same stick position as it would in Range A. Do others find this, and therefore reduce expo on Range B to compensate?
Old 08-03-2023, 03:14 AM
  #1784  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,913
Received 339 Likes on 271 Posts
Default

Yes I reduce expo a bit when using attitude assist mode
The following users liked this post:
Racer686 (08-04-2023)
Old 08-03-2023, 08:09 AM
  #1785  
wfield0455
My Feedback: (7)
 
wfield0455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 1,299
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by VINOLAS
Thank you
I tried to update the Mercury via the Jeti USB adapter but no way to select the 'Update' item from the small screen menu to take control from my PC.
Page 10 of the Mercury SR2 instruction manual , I can read Reset/update as an option but the screen does not show the Update option inside the Reset sub menu...
Not sure what exactly you are doing but when I updated a Pioneer using a Jeti USB adapter I downloaded and installed PowerBox Terminal on my PC, connected the Jeti USB adapter to the PC and started Powerboxes terminal. If Powerboxes terminal detects the USB adapter you should be able to use it to update the firmware on the attached device.
Old 08-07-2023, 12:39 AM
  #1786  
VINOLAS
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: senlis, FRANCE, METROPOLITAN
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

thank you
I'll try again when back home
Old 08-20-2023, 07:50 PM
  #1787  
frankie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Hello All, can I please ask when using this PB radio, how it's best to view/diagnose flight telemetry data after you have completed numerous flights for the day, etc? Reference to a post# would be easiest, BRG, Frank
The following users liked this post:
Springbok Flyer (08-21-2023)
Old 08-21-2023, 03:28 AM
  #1788  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,913
Received 339 Likes on 271 Posts
Default

Best to review after a flight, when you turn everything off it resets the values unless you want to start pulling logs and looking at it on a laptop.

The cumulative stuff like capacity used don't reset until you reset them but LQ and that that to look at signal performance reset with each power cycle
Old 08-21-2023, 08:01 AM
  #1789  
skunkwurk
My Feedback: (18)
 
skunkwurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: N/A
Posts: 646
Received 49 Likes on 48 Posts
Default

After the flight you're interested in or at the end of the day, just download all of the logs from the radio. Each flight will have it's own flight log for your viewing pleasure. You'll need a viewer, the PB terminal has a data log viewer built-in.
The following users liked this post:
Springbok Flyer (08-21-2023)
Old 08-22-2023, 12:16 PM
  #1790  
frankie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Hello Gents, thanks for your replies.

skunkwurk - perfect, just what I need. I'm assuming that PB Terminal is the only way that RSSI/LQ data from previous flights can be viewed and this cannot be done with the Core Transmitter screen?

When using PB Terminal is it simply a case of connecting a USB cable?

BRG, Frank
Old 08-22-2023, 01:09 PM
  #1791  
skunkwurk
My Feedback: (18)
 
skunkwurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: N/A
Posts: 646
Received 49 Likes on 48 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by frankie
Hello Gents, thanks for your replies.

skunkwurk - perfect, just what I need. I'm assuming that PB Terminal is the only way that RSSI/LQ data from previous flights can be viewed and this cannot be done with the Core Transmitter screen?

When using PB Terminal is it simply a case of connecting a USB cable?

BRG, Frank
Yes, you can view LQ or RSSI for the duration of the flight by individual antenna. No, you do not need to have the USB connected. Once you have the files downloaded to your pc, you just access the file from the terminal, it will parse the data. You will need to select the data fields you would like to view.

Last edited by skunkwurk; 08-22-2023 at 02:04 PM.
The following users liked this post:
Springbok Flyer (08-22-2023)
Old 08-22-2023, 01:58 PM
  #1792  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Castle Rock CO
Posts: 1,526
Received 80 Likes on 64 Posts
Default

Just because Ive never done this it would be good to see a video on it and how to interpret the data.
The following users liked this post:
Springbok Flyer (08-23-2023)
Old 08-23-2023, 03:05 PM
  #1793  
frankie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Hello All, just a quick update here, and a brief account.

I had flown on the weekend and noticed a glitch on the last flight of the day when using my PB radio. Having used numerous brand 2.4 GHz radios for close to 15 years, with a perfect record, I was curious as to why I had an "event" with this particular radio...

I could clearly see that after downloading and viewing the log file with PB Terminal, the RSSI of the receiver had briefly gone through the floor on the last flight...at the exact same epoc for the same flight, the telemetry for the RX battery voltage had briefly dropped to a very low level (caused, I'm guessing, by the very fast set of rolls I had just performed - high load on servos)

It's great to be in a position where you can rule out any theories, and immediately uncover the root cause of an issue - no doubt I will investigate further, I'm guessing a faulty battery...

The lesson here is that basic post-flight checks can only glean so much information, viewing detailed log files usually tells the remainder of the story.

BRG, Frank
The following 2 users liked this post by frankie:
AEROSHELDON (08-23-2023), Springbok Flyer (08-23-2023)
Old 08-24-2023, 06:42 AM
  #1794  
raydar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: stirling, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 508
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by frankie
Hello All, just a quick update here, and a brief account.

I had flown on the weekend and noticed a glitch on the last flight of the day when using my PB radio. Having used numerous brand 2.4 GHz radios for close to 15 years, with a perfect record, I was curious as to why I had an "event" with this particular radio...

I could clearly see that after downloading and viewing the log file with PB Terminal, the RSSI of the receiver had briefly gone through the floor on the last flight...at the exact same epoc for the same flight, the telemetry for the RX battery voltage had briefly dropped to a very low level (caused, I'm guessing, by the very fast set of rolls I had just performed - high load on servos)

It's great to be in a position where you can rule out any theories, and immediately uncover the root cause of an issue - no doubt I will investigate further, I'm guessing a faulty battery...

The lesson here is that basic post-flight checks can only glean so much information, viewing detailed log files usually tells the remainder of the story.

BRG, Frank

Go one better and utilise your telemetry and set RX batt warnings on your TX , no point waiting till after the event to find the sometimes fatal cause.
The following 2 users liked this post by raydar:
jcterrettaz (08-24-2023), Skunkwrks (09-03-2023)
Old 08-24-2023, 12:47 PM
  #1795  
frankie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Good point my friend, problem is that I already had...

I'm guessing that I had set the voltage too low/wrong

anywhere in the manual recommending voltage thresholds for different battery cell counts/capacities/chemistry types?

Cheers

Last edited by frankie; 08-24-2023 at 12:58 PM. Reason: to clarify
Old 08-29-2023, 02:32 AM
  #1796  
David Gladwin
 
David Gladwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CookhamBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,911
Received 138 Likes on 89 Posts
Default

Delighted to see that Core is now a world masters winner!
Adrian Senn used Core in his de H Vampire T11 to win the 15 kg class.
Some of you guys may have seen the Lighter side of rc video comparing radios, in which he slams Core. He clearly does not understand RF propagation using patch antennae
Old 08-30-2023, 08:44 PM
  #1797  
CostasV
Member
 
CostasV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Australia
Posts: 55
Received 29 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by David Gladwin
He clearly does not understand RF
Don't let factual engineering principles get in the way of more Youtube hits....

I gather he was trying to do the right thing, but just very poorly executed due to lack of knowledge in that area.

No different to when he unfortunately lost a jet recently by mounting a switch-mode lighting controller right up against a VSpeak module... Not something someone would do if you knew that all switch-mode devices produce electrical/RF noise (interference) when not well filtered.
Old 08-31-2023, 05:57 AM
  #1798  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Castle Rock CO
Posts: 1,526
Received 80 Likes on 64 Posts
Default

Well, noone knows everything and we all learn as we go. I feel he was trying to do the right thing as stated above.
The following users liked this post:
Skunkwrks (09-03-2023)
Old 09-01-2023, 02:11 AM
  #1799  
David Gladwin
 
David Gladwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CookhamBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,911
Received 138 Likes on 89 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by AEROSHELDON
Well, noone knows everything and we all learn as we go. I feel he was trying to do the right thing as stated above.
No, he emphatically did NOT do the right thing.
If he was getting poor range results, ( despite the PB, justifiable, claims of extreme range) then the reasonable course of action would have been to discuss the issue with PB. That was not done.
He did not seem to notice that the Core uses patch antennae which have a very different radiation patterns to monopoles as used on other radios. Holding the Tx high above head was exactly NOT the right thing to do, it would point the radiation away from the rx. worsening the situation.
I discussed at length the use of patch antennae with Weatronics engineers who also advised me that even greater range could be obtained using patches as rx aerials. I trialled this using one patch and one whip on a Weatronics gizmo receiver. They were right, and I now use patches on three Hawks and aMig 29. which each together give a spherical reception pattern and perfect operation at any range and attitude. That was about 10 years ago and the newer PB receivers are such that patches are not required , or give any real benefit, so are not neccesary.
Talking to a RF professional it seems I have been using patches for years without knowing it, they are a key component on low range radalts ( in 4 Ghz band) a key component in autoland equipment which I have used on many occasions on various Boeings, 73, 75 and 76, in Cat 2 and 3 conditions !

There is a great deal of learned info on patch antennae on the internet, particularly on radiation patterns, PB use them on the Core and Atom for very good reasons !

Last edited by David Gladwin; 09-01-2023 at 02:13 AM.
Old 09-01-2023, 03:06 PM
  #1800  
jcterrettaz
My Feedback: (1)
 
jcterrettaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Carp, ON, CANADA
Posts: 453
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

such a delicate subject ,I dont even know why he made this video ...youtuber....

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.