Notices
RC Pattern Flying Discuss all topics pertaining to RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

Golden Rods

Old 12-11-2008, 12:09 PM
frequent flyer
My Feedback: (6)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Golden Rods

Are golden rods a good way to connect the elevators? I am using a pull/pull for the rudder. Can you poost pics ofyou set ups. I flew pattern planes long ago and Ihave recently become interested again.I have a leo 110 with a ys 140 and I'm building a Black Magic VF3. I could use advice on servos, and general info on setting up the radio gear , etc. to current day standards.
Old 12-11-2008, 12:17 PM
rcpattern
My Feedback: (45)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Golden Rods

Absolutely not. Way too much flex, and they also have significant changes due to temperature. The best method is the DEPS system from Central. Even though it looks similar, the carbon does not stretch like the golden rod, nor does it flex. I've been flying the DEPS system in my V3 for 18 months now and wouldn't use anything else,

For servos on the V3, get the best you can justify. Do not go cheap on servos. The V3 is an airframe that you can tell...just like most of the new designs. Either Futaba, JR, or Airtronics. Stay away from Hitec as they have centering issues. In my V3, i'm currently flying all Futaba..

BLS-451 - Ailerons X 2
BLS-351 - Rudder
BLS-451 - Elevator (9254 heli tail rotor servos works REALLY well here also)
9650 - Throttle

Arch
Old 12-11-2008, 12:19 PM
beppeVRCS

I use golden rods for throttle, they are fantasti for that application. Aother one might be Water Rudder in a seaplane. Other than that...
In modern applications the servos are usually VERY close to the surface, and a solid rod is the best solution. If you plan to put the Elevator servo in the center fuse sections, a solid 2-56 rod in a plastic sheat is my preferred solution.
Ciao
Beppe
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sp45430.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	87.8 KB
ID:	1087622