Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Flapperons Eclipse 7 question

Old 12-27-2003, 04:04 AM
  #1  
Wolfpack
Member
Thread Starter
 
Wolfpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Huntington Beach, CA,
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Flapperons Eclipse 7 question

I will be tryign to set up flapperons on an eclipse. I just got this radio and I will be running duel ailerons on the airplane. I was told that if you did this that you would loose the ability to trim one of the ailerons, is this true? They said I would have to put the other aileron on say channel 7 and then I would not be aboe to trim it. How do you set up flaperons properly with this radio? can you use flapperons with a y harness? what is the best way? thanks!
Old 12-28-2003, 12:37 AM
  #2  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Flapperons Eclipse 7 question

Plug one aileron into channel 1 and the other into channel 6. Go into the Eclipse's FLPN mix and activate it and set the rate for each aileron individually. THen set the rate for your spoilerons/flaperons. The flap/spoilerons will be on you Ch6 knob (left side of case).

It is impossible to do with when using a Y-harness.
Old 12-28-2003, 03:37 AM
  #3  
Wolfpack
Member
Thread Starter
 
Wolfpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Huntington Beach, CA,
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Flapperons Eclipse 7 question

but can you TRIM both ailerons in the air? does the one trim switch trim both ailerons, or how does hte trim work with this setup?
Old 12-28-2003, 03:46 AM
  #4  
Wolfpack
Member
Thread Starter
 
Wolfpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Huntington Beach, CA,
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Flapperons Eclipse 7 question

OK, the reasons for the quesitons is because I have been talking with a friend and he was concerned about the trims, but he has now sent me this email:

Found it. No apparent problem with flaperon... it's when attempting to use
dual elevator servos. You can't use a simple "Y" harness because one needs
to be reversed. You can buy an inline reverser, but with the computer
radio, you SHOULD be able to slave a spare channel off of the elevator
channel only reversed. In this situation, it's not a pre-programmed mix
like elevon/flaperon, so the trim only affects one elevator panel.
RCD's suggestion was to trim the slave with the flap knob, and said that
they would be fixing the software in the future. Message was dated
07/20/2002, so our radios probably are not "fixed".

Soooo, any comments on how to set this up witht he eclipse 7 radio? Does he have it right, or is he missing something and making this duel elevator servo setup too complicated? What is the best way to set up the duel elevator servo with the eclipse? THanks ! ! ! !
Old 12-28-2003, 11:16 PM
  #5  
RichLockyer
Senior Member
 
RichLockyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 154
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Flapperons Eclipse 7 question

You wanna do dual elevator servos too, or only flaperon?
Old 12-29-2003, 08:24 PM
  #6  
Wolfpack
Member
Thread Starter
 
Wolfpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Huntington Beach, CA,
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Flapperons Eclipse 7 question

I am definately going to run flapperons and I was thinking the kit called for duel elevator servos, but now I am really not sure, vectorflight does not have their instructions on the internet.... but lets say I will run both flapperons and duel elevator servos.
Old 12-29-2003, 08:34 PM
  #7  
RichLockyer
Senior Member
 
RichLockyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 154
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Flapperons Eclipse 7 question

Looking here I'd say it's a single:
http://www.vectorflight.com/FAQs.htm...g%20Advantages

No holes in the tail on the uncovered fuse:
http://www.vectorflight.com/images/Img110.jpg

Positions under the canopy for three servos... rudder, throttle, elevator:
http://www.vectorflight.com/images/Img120.jpg

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.