Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

GROUP BUILD - Top Flite Giant Scale F4U Corsair

Community
Search
Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

GROUP BUILD - Top Flite Giant Scale F4U Corsair

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2013, 06:23 AM
swampd

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: GROUP BUILD - Top Flite Giant Scale F4U Corsair

Hey, Guys -

I've been stuck for a while now on the main landing gear doors. The problem I'm having is with the hinges. I purchased some Robart 350s, thinking they'd be most rugged and "scale-like", but I can't seem to get the opening/closing geometry to work. Can someone either point me to or post some pics of a similar setup showing where the hinge center line should be; what, if any, shims need to be placed on the wing side and/or door side; and any beveling required on the hinge side of the door or wing skin?

This is driving me nuts! I'm an electrical engineer, not mechanical, but have always prided myself in being able to figure out just about anything. But for whatever reason, the solution here is evading me!

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide! You could be the savior of my sanity!

Marsh
Old 03-18-2013, 12:20 PM
ctflyboy
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Marsh,
You need to go to the index on page 1, scroll down till you come to GEAR DOORS,there you will see a whole lot of post, simply click on the post number and it will take you directly to that post.
In the gear door section you will find a varied selection of what guys did to accomplish this part of the build,
Hope this helps,if you need further assistance don't hesitate to PM me and perhaps I can send you some close up pics .

George
CORSAIR Brotherhood # 1

Old 03-22-2013, 07:30 PM
Driskelljc