Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

Beginer Help!

Old 03-30-2006, 03:27 PM
  #1  
mwallin85
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
mwallin85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 240
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginer Help!

I'm building my first Trex XL CCPM so I dont have alot fo exsperience when it comes to heli's. So any help you can give me would be great. Heres what i have for electronics, T7CHP futaba, Hitech recv., 3 65HB servos, 1 56 HB, Gy401, and then a 430L motor and 35 amp esc from Align. I'm starting to hook up all the electronics and now when i plug the battery in all the servos move back and forth no matter what i do on the controller. The motor also runs no mattter what i do at a low speed. So some answers would be much needed. Thanks guys!

Sorry for the rookie questions,
Old 03-30-2006, 03:57 PM
  #2  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,042
Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

try

http://www.trextuning.com
Old 03-30-2006, 04:06 PM
  #3  
Flytoolow
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Coventry, CT
Posts: 403
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Beginer Help!

First off, if you are running a Lipo, WATCH YOUR VOLTAGE!!!! Don't go below 9.0v dc, or your battery will be toast. second, you probable have a switch in the wrong position, like an idle up or a idle lock <-look in your manual. Unfortunately, as the servos go, I wouldn't know about the ones you have, I am running HS-5s for the swash, and an HS-50 for the tail. No problems yet, but I am only doing hovering and basic flight, no 3D. I too, however am using the 401, awesome, would never replace it! Again, the Castle Creations 35 amp controller and 430 motor. no problems.

Good luck.
Ron
Old 03-30-2006, 04:30 PM
  #4  
mwallin85
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
mwallin85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 240
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

Well I got my servo's to stop twitching and I got that all working right. But now i seem to have a new problem. Once i got the servo's setup I went to set up the ESC and now all that does it beep constintly and doesnt respond to anything i do. So anyone know whats the problem there?
Old 03-30-2006, 06:55 PM
  #5  
b16a2sir
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kelowna, BC, CANADA
Posts: 295
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

GO HERE:

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_4032741/tm.htm
Old 03-30-2006, 07:05 PM
  #6  
mwallin85
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
mwallin85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 240
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

I'v already watched that they are great videos but it doesnt show my problem in the ESC setup video. My esc just beeps non stop no matter what i do and my motor does not move.
Old 03-30-2006, 08:48 PM
  #7  
Flytoolow
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Coventry, CT
Posts: 403
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Beginer Help!

Have you looked at switch assignments? Do you have the proper voltage? Is the throttle pluged into the correct channel?

Let us know please.
Old 03-30-2006, 09:49 PM
  #8  
mwallin85
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
mwallin85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 240
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

Yes I have checked all that and everything is correct.
Old 03-31-2006, 06:18 AM
  #9  
Flytoolow
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Coventry, CT
Posts: 403
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Beginer Help!

What mode is your transmitter in? And is it in the correct transmit mode (PPM, PCM, PPM-INV)???
Old 03-31-2006, 07:04 AM
  #10  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,042
Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

If its a futaba radio and a Align ESC you have to reverse the throttle direction on the transmitter and to program the esc you start with the stick at full throttle when you power up the esc, that should put it into setup mode.

You want soft start/mid timing/75 percent cutoff/non governor heli mode
Old 03-31-2006, 12:14 PM
  #11  
mwallin85
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
mwallin85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 240
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

I'm in mode 2 and its on PCM which should be all correct. I also had the throttel reversed already. I did try putting it back to normall but that did nothing.
Old 03-31-2006, 12:17 PM
  #12  
mwallin85
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
mwallin85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 240
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

It wouldnt be my battery would it? I have a Thunder Power 1320 3 cell.
Old 04-03-2006, 09:19 PM
  #13  
mwallin85
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
mwallin85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 240
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

Any ideas anyone?
Old 04-03-2006, 11:53 PM
  #14  
H0ndaJunkie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 216
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

I found out today that with the align ESCs, if you plug the battery into the heli, while your throttle stick is NOT fully set to it's lowest point, the ESC will just beep constantly. You have to make sure that the throttle is down before you plug in.

If your throttle stick IS all the way down and it still beeps, it would then make me wonder if you might have some custom throttle curve set up where your throttle stick never actually reaches zero. Don't forget that in order to program the ESC you have to be using a fresh model profile that has a linear throttle curve. 0,25,50,75,100.

If you don't the ESC will not program correctly.

If you've checked all this and still have the problem, I'd say that you ESC is probably toast.

Old 04-04-2006, 11:00 PM
  #15  
mwallin85
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
mwallin85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 240
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

Well i tried everything you said and nothing seem to work. I dont have a curve set up other then the stock one which allows for a zero setting so i guess i might just of gotten a bad one. I guess i will have to see if i can get it replaced since its only a week old. Thanks for you help and if anyone else has any ideas please tell.

Thanks for you time!
Old 04-04-2006, 11:08 PM
  #16  
NVSFlyer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 137
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

You don't have a sub trim set up on your throttle do you? Try setting you HOLD switch to -5 and arm your ESC that way.
Old 04-05-2006, 11:47 AM
  #17  
mwallin85
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
mwallin85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 240
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

I tried that this morning and still beeps. This is so annoying spent over 700 bucks and cant fly yet.
Old 04-05-2006, 12:37 PM
  #18  
giles25
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

what did you do to stop the servos from twitching?
Old 04-05-2006, 03:04 PM
  #19  
NVSFlyer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 137
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

Your TX is set to use Channel 3 as your throttle is that what Channel your ESC is plugged into on your reciever?
Old 04-05-2006, 05:20 PM
  #20  
mwallin85
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
mwallin85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 240
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

The servos were twicthing because I tried a differnt recv. and it wasnt PCM so I had to change my tx to ppm then they worked fine. I do have the throttle set up on ch. 3 and that is what the esc is pluged into.
Old 04-06-2006, 09:01 PM
  #21  
hdoc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Roslyn, NY
Posts: 428
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

You may not be giving it enough time for set-up. I had the same problem initially.

The Aligh instructions are very precise. Read this whole post before starting.

If the servos are OK, then you're in correct transmission mode. First--Take off the rotor blades.

Start with the Xmitter throttle programmed to "REVERSE"
'
Put the Stick at full throttle, and plug in the Batt. you'll get 3 musical beeps, then 4 rising tones, then rapid low to hi & hi to low tones, then place throttle to its lowest position-the same thing will happen, ****followed by steady beeps.(slow SINGLE) beeps.
NOW--Keep stick down(LOW) for the first (Brake) mode---(brake off) WAIT PATIENTLY TOUCH NOTHING,
Next you'll hear confirmation beeps, and then Double beeps for timing--For your setup WITHIN 5 DBL BEEPS, move the stick to the MID position ('mid timing) Again you'l get confirmation tones.
Next you'll hear triple beeps-- Put the throttle to MIDDLE... Again confirmation beeps.(65% Batt cut off)

Finally, groups of 4 Beeps-- Put throttle LOW (Normal aircraft throttle)--You don't want Gov mode--It 'Sucks"
Again you'll get the confirmation tones and now are ready to fly.

When you plug your batt in, with throttle on LOW, it will first go thru slow beeping which will 'remind' you of your settings. Then you can start flying.

**** If at this point, when you move the throttle to low, you'r motor starts, then Change the Xmitter throttle output to NORMAL, if it was originally in Reverse(Futaba Xmitters usually need reverse).

This should work well. Good Luck

Lloyd
Old 04-07-2006, 11:56 AM
  #22  
mwallin85
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
mwallin85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 240
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

That wasnt my problem, I ended up taking my heli to my LHS and they tried a differnt ESC and then everything worked. So there was some kind of problem with the esc. Sending it back today and I hope i to get it replaced by the place i got it from.
Old 04-07-2006, 02:40 PM
  #23  
H0ndaJunkie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 216
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beginer Help!

I knew it........toast anyone?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.