Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 20 of 34 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast
Results 476 to 500 of 833

  1. #476
    Bdegan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Newmarket, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    485
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?


    ORIGINAL: kochj


    How is this one holding up???? Is it also a covering that delaminates and fuel seeps???
    So far so good after a gallon of Nitro fuel. The bottom of the fuselage and tail are compleely covered in slime after 4 flights.
    Can't wait to convert it to gas

  2. #477

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Victoria, MN
    Posts
    3,875
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    ohh yeah, I forgot that most use gas in this one....

    Is it actually MONOKOTE on it???
    If you can\'\'\'\'t dazzle em with brilliance,baffle em with BS

  3. #478

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Idaho Falls, ID
    Posts
    3,931
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    The big Reactor is covered in Monokote. At least mine is. Repairs are very easy and a perfect match with the Monokote covering I have on hand.
    Thanks
    Barry

  4. #479
    Bdegan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Newmarket, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    485
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    My son had a dead stick last night. He was at the top of a low loop. He got really nervous and dove it down to the runway.
    It came in pretty hot and rolled into the long grass off the runway.
    Tore out the landing gear and split the landing gear block. Need to pick up some covering material and do some minor surgery.
    Now is a good time to add an aluminum plate on top of the landing gear and beef the area up a bit. Since I want to upgrade it to a 50cc this winter.
    I am also going to be sending landing gear dimensions to graphtech. They said they would see what they could come up with for this plane.

  5. #480

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Belvidere, IL
    Posts
    97
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    FWIW I used the Graphtech 120 #120 Hangar 9 33%/35% Extra 330 Main Landing Gear on my Reactor, I simply cut the gear down the center, used the originals to get the hole spacing correct and mounted them up. I also had to open the slots in the fuselage about an eighth of an inch. They work great, look pretty cool too. Cost me all of $35 on sale a couple of months ago. No more prop strikes during my less than graceful Harrier arrivals .
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Om34492.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	92.0 KB 
ID:	1259281   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Jf11706.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	184.2 KB 
ID:	1259282   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Fl18758.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	166.0 KB 
ID:	1259283  
    LRV

  6. #481
    obriendigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Waverly, NE
    Posts
    69
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    I bent the little metal piece that holds the landing gear a couple times by landing on grass, does anyone have a good idea for a replacement tail wheel setup?

    Thanks!

  7. #482

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Palacios, TX
    Posts
    250
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    I used the Sullivan part # S861 for 10 to 22 lb birds...

  8. #483

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Belvidere, IL
    Posts
    97
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    Pete Models medium sized carbon fiber tailwheel setup works nice......... I haven't been able to hurt it yet
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Fc90462.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	9.4 KB 
ID:	1268054  
    LRV

  9. #484

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Victoria, MN
    Posts
    3,875
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    Mine snaped pretty easily on my 85-100cc plane...
    If you can\'\'\'\'t dazzle em with brilliance,baffle em with BS

  10. #485

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    San Clemente, CA
    Posts
    100
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    Can anyone tell me if they covered whole wing and stabs in white first and then added the red and orange detail? I would like to know if it is possible to remove the Orange & Red to reveal an all white wing? I would like to customize it a little if I get one.

    Thanks!

  11. #486
    Bdegan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Newmarket, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    485
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    ORIGINAL: mustang11

    *
    FWIW I used the Graphtech 120 #120 Hangar 9 33%/35% Extra 330 Main Landing Gear on my Reactor, I simply cut the gear down the center, used the originals to get the hole spacing correct and mounted them up. I also had to open the slots in the fuselage about an eighth of an inch. They work great, look pretty cool too. Cost me all of $35 on sale a couple of months ago. No more prop strikes during my less than graceful Harrier arrivals [img][/img].
    Mustang,

    Could you give me some info on your electric set up.
    The Reactor for my son started off with an OS160. He liked it a lot. We then swapped that out for a DL50 which flies it extremely well.
    But the gasser scares him. He is only 12, and unfortunately can not start the engine himself. So he is at the mercy of me being able to help him.
    So after spending today at the field and there being a few incidence, not involveing him or me thank goodness.
    We have decided to convert his Reactor to electric.
    That way he doesn't have to worry a big noisy gasser. He can charge his own batteries and change them. And do everything himself.

    Thanks
    Brad

  12. #487
    Super08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Fort McMurray, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    3,765
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    Well after almost a year of looking at it I placed an order for one. Power will be a DL55, Hited 5645 servos, Futaba 10C, and a single 5200mah LiIon battery for the Rx and a 2000 4.8 on the ign. I think I will order the Jtec muffler for the P51 that fits inside without cutting the cowl. Does anyone know if there is a power loss with this muffler compared to other wrap around pitts?
    Quote: Hey, who put that tree there?
    Ultra Sport brotherhood #125
    Sig brotherhood #73
    Cub brotherhood #226

  13. #488
    Bdegan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Newmarket, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    485
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    Hey Doug,
    You will like it. I swear, it flies like a giant foamie
    We flew ours with a DL50 and verticle was really really good swinging a Xoar 22x8. With the 55 and a 23x8 it will be silly

    I am getting excited to make ours electric now.

  14. #489
    Super08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Fort McMurray, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    3,765
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    Sounds sweet. I can just imagine what it would be like for your son. A 50cc gasser can be a little intimidating.
    Quote: Hey, who put that tree there?
    Ultra Sport brotherhood #125
    Sig brotherhood #73
    Cub brotherhood #226

  15. #490

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Fort Myers, FL
    Posts
    1,388
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?


    ORIGINAL: Super08

    Well after almost a year of looking at it I placed an order for one. Power will be a DL55, Hited 5645 servos, Futaba 10C, and a single 5200mah LiIon battery for the Rx and a 2000 4.8 on the ign. I think I will order the Jtec muffler for the P51 that fits inside without cutting the cowl. Does anyone know if there is a power loss with this muffler compared to other wrap around pitts?
    Super08,

    Congratulations on the purchase. I really enjoy mine. You might want to reconsider the batteries. I fly all my planes, including the Reactor, on a single A123 battery (2400mhr) that powers both the DL50 ignition and receiver. I have never used more than half the capacity flying 3-4 12 minute flights per trip to the field. Less weight flies better. The DL50 has a Jtec wrap around Pitts muffler, and it does require opening up the cowl too much. The P51 would be nice, but I don't know about the power. The Reactor with the DL50, it's a rocket. With the DL50, mine required around 4oz of weight in the tail for balance, which is what most of us ran into.

    Chuck
    WACO Brother #233

  16. #491
    Super08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Fort McMurray, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    3,765
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    Thanks, I already have the battery and was looking for a plane to put it in. I may go without the ign battery, but I am still leary about using the same battery for both. Old habits die hard. I know the Slimline cuts the rpms down as I have one already on another plane. Even with teh Jtec one being down sized to fit in the cowl I think it would flow better than the Slimline. I may just say the hec with it and use the Inveted Bisson I have as well. I will have to mull it over a while..
    Quote: Hey, who put that tree there?
    Ultra Sport brotherhood #125
    Sig brotherhood #73
    Cub brotherhood #226

  17. #492
    Bdegan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Newmarket, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    485
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    Loosing a couple hundred rpm off of the 55 won't effect the way this plane flies.
    Use a 22x8 instead of the 23. You will get back those missing R's.
    Like everyone said, The DL50 and this plane is fantastic verticle and power.

  18. #493
    Bdegan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Newmarket, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    485
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    Forgot to mention. Besides converting to electric I will be ordering a carbon wing tube and Landing gear during the winter.
    Should lower the airframe weight by 8ozs or more. I will also weigh my gas setup as I pull everything out over the next couple of days.
    Then weigh all the electric components going in. There should be a savings there as well.

  19. #494
    Super08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Fort McMurray, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    3,765
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    I was looking at the carbon tubes on TBM's site too. I see they are out of stock right now.
    Quote: Hey, who put that tree there?
    Ultra Sport brotherhood #125
    Sig brotherhood #73
    Cub brotherhood #226

  20. #495
    Bdegan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Newmarket, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    485
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    What about Graphtech ? Their prices for tubes looked good also

    Nevermind ...........Just had a closer look. I was looking at tail tubes for my Ultimate.

  21. #496

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Fort Myers, FL
    Posts
    1,388
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    Regarding using the same battery for the ignition and receiver, I forgot to mention one important detail, only do this if you are on 2.4ghz.

    Super08, you're obviously fine with the 10C.

    Chuck
    WACO Brother #233

  22. #497
    Super08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Fort McMurray, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    3,765
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    I looked at Graphtech and Radio South. Twice the price TBM is asking...I am in no ruch with winter upon us. I'll hang on until TBM get some more in if I get one.

    edit: Got that Chuck
    Quote: Hey, who put that tree there?
    Ultra Sport brotherhood #125
    Sig brotherhood #73
    Cub brotherhood #226

  23. #498
    wyo69cowboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Cody, WY
    Posts
    751
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?


    ORIGINAL: Super08

    Well after almost a year of looking at it I placed an order for one. Power will be a DL55, Hited 5645 servos, Futaba 10C, and a single 5200mah LiIon battery for the Rx and a 2000 4.8 on the ign. I think I will order the Jtec muffler for the P51 that fits inside without cutting the cowl. Does anyone know if there is a power loss with this muffler compared to other wrap around pitts?
    Super08, I had the Jtec Pitts on a DL55 in my Reactor, and was very pleased. Engine was not even close to being broken in (approx 1/2 gal thru it), and I was swinging a 22x8 Xoar 7400rpm at my elevation (4500'). Unfortunately, lost mine on the third flight due to pilot/ground crew error. Was running two 2100 Lipos/dual switches/voltage reg, but never charged them up after running on ground for break in and the three flights. Receiver "browned" out on my Futaba 7C and down she went. Airframe destroyed, broken engine cases, etc. [] Valuable lesson learned: multiple digital servos draw a lot of juice, even at "idle". Will be replacing plane this winter, and will have a better preflight regimen next year!
    Crashing my way to being a better pilot!
    Saito Club# 679

  24. #499
    Super08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Fort McMurray, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    3,765
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    Was that the small P51 style pitts?
    Quote: Hey, who put that tree there?
    Ultra Sport brotherhood #125
    Sig brotherhood #73
    Cub brotherhood #226

  25. #500
    wyo69cowboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Cody, WY
    Posts
    751
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Reactor 120-160?

    Yes, it's the one meant for the P51. Never even got to mount the cowl, but a quick mockup showed that there likely wouldn't be any holes in the cowl by using it. Here's a pic of it with the cowl off.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Rp44068.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	106.1 KB 
ID:	1293483   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Zu65096.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	68.0 KB 
ID:	1293484  
    Crashing my way to being a better pilot!
    Saito Club# 679


Page 20 of 34 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.