Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
 U-Can-Do 3d 46? >

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Old 05-25-2007, 07:01 AM
  #5976  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I use the 3010 servos on the ailerons with good results. Here's the specs......Control System: +Pulse Width Control 1520usec Neutral
Required Pulse: 3-5 Volt Peak to Peak Square Wave
Operating Voltage: 4.8-6.0 Volts
Operating Temperature Range: -20 to +60 Degree C
Operating Speed (4.8V): 0.20sec/60 degrees at no load
Operating Speed (6.0V): 0.16sec/60 degrees at no load
Stall Torque (4.8V): 72 oz/in. (5.2kg.cm)
Stall Torque (6.0V): 90 oz/in. (6.5kg.cm)
Operating Angle: 45 Deg. one side pulse traveling 400usec
360 Modifiable: Yes
Direction: Counter Clockwise/Pulse Traveling 1520-1900usec
Motor Type: 3 Pole Ferrite
Potentiometer Drive: Indirect Drive
Bearing Type: Top Ball Bearing
Gear Type: All Nylon Gears
Connector Wire Length: 12"
Dimensions: 1.6" x 0.8"x 1.5" (41 x 20 x 38mm)
Weight: 1.4oz. (41g)
Old 05-25-2007, 07:05 AM
  #5977  
 
Rocketman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: , MA
Posts: 1,270
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?


ORIGINAL: gregziemba

could i put futaba s3010 on the elavator and the alerons
Yes.
Old 05-25-2007, 11:09 AM
  #5978  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I think Rclement's set up is a good one also. I perfer to go with more torque because I use the same servos on most of my planes. It just keeps it simpler and more expensive. But I think you'd be fine with those servos.
thanks
Barry
Old 05-25-2007, 04:25 PM
  #5979  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?


ORIGINAL: Barry Cazier

Here's mine in a low hover...

Thanks
Barry
Excellant prop sewing job Barry. Man that's pretty. You're getting better at it. [X(]
Old 05-25-2007, 05:55 PM
  #5980  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Yeah...it's an art. It doesn't look balanced but it is. I've actually gone to a differ pitch on one side and that side is shorter. Gives a nice even pull. But, as they say...Don't try that at home.

Thansk\
Barry
Old 05-25-2007, 09:24 PM
  #5981  
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Ok I finally got back from vacation and the planes gear re-epoxied into the fuse. Went out yesterday and with the help of my friend got the OS55AX dialed in. Wind was blowing 23mph gust to 30, but it was still a good day to fly since the engine is finally dialed in. I have just one question....why do the bracings and struts and other supports keep breaking? every time I turn around something else has cracked and the monokote sag is my first clue. I am afraid that this thing isn't going to last the summer! I mean just wiping it down after flying and one of the sides cracked between two of the lightening holes in the fuse. Oy vey at this rate, it will be just a memory by fall[&o]
Old 05-26-2007, 07:15 AM
  #5982  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Do you have some pictures of the problems?
Old 05-26-2007, 01:07 PM
  #5983  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

if i use the hitec high torqe servos would i need a bigger reciver battery? because im wanting to use a NiCd Flat 4.8V 600mAh. Another question is will the high torqe servo ruin the plane and why is it bad to have a lot of torqe?
Old 05-26-2007, 03:45 PM
  #5984  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

No high torque servos will not ruin the plane. Just the opposite. It may even help prevent flutter which could cause a crash. THe high torque servos make it easier to hold KE and hover, etc. I always use them on my planes. On the small DO it isn't really necessary but it certainly won't hurt anything.

I use a 1200mA minimum battery. Most times I use 1650mA. I think 600mA is too small. You would be alright if you charge every two flights but you wouldn't want to go much longer.

Thanks
Barry
Old 05-26-2007, 05:03 PM
  #5985  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

thank for the help!
Old 05-26-2007, 09:10 PM
  #5986  
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I've noticed that this a/c is pretty "FRAAAAGEEEEELLLLLEEEE" to quote Darrin McGavin from A Christmas Story. Every time I touch the thing I seem to crack or break something.

[:@]
Old 05-28-2007, 02:30 PM
  #5987  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

No question they are very light. Part of the design. It is kinda fragile to handle (however I seem to hear it crack on handling, but no problems) but it flys as light as anything in the sky. I've learned to not fly mine fast and to spend extra care on landing (I don't even beef up my landing gear anymore) and it is holding up excellently.

Thanks
Barry
Old 05-28-2007, 02:31 PM
  #5988  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Now...on my 60 size I've had a terrible time keeping the hinges in the elevators. I've replaced them about 6 times and I just can't keep them in there. But again...it is my favorite plane to fly.

Thanks
Barry
Old 05-28-2007, 02:35 PM
  #5989  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

By the way...if you missed it, now is a great time to buy a UCD. With member savings at Tower you get $30 off any order for $149 or greater. That means a net price of $119.95 for the 46 and $149.95 for the 60 size. That includes freight to your home. No wonder so many of these planes have been sold.

Thanks
Barry
Old 05-28-2007, 05:37 PM
  #5990  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

the .46 u can do has a removable wing right
Old 05-28-2007, 08:09 PM
  #5991  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Yes, one piece removeable wing. Nice.

THanks
Barry
Old 05-30-2007, 05:30 AM
  #5992  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Only two days left for the lowest pricing of the year on the UCDs. Better get 'em ordered.

Thanks
Barry

PS: Is anybody getting any flying in? It seems I'm so busy lately I can't get much going. Over Memorial Day it was too windy. Only time it's nice is when I'm at work.
Old 05-30-2007, 07:01 AM
  #5993  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

dont forget to order the u-can-do with the free 15 gift card
Old 05-30-2007, 12:15 PM
  #5994  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Yes, that's a great idea.

Thanks
Barry
Old 05-30-2007, 08:26 PM
  #5995  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

i recived my u-can-do today! but dont know about the hinges do you guys use the one that it came with or do you use diffent. and what clue epoxy or ca. Im thinking ca. Thanks for the help!
Old 05-30-2007, 09:42 PM
  #5996  
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 878
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

It really depends on how you’re going to build the plane. If your going to use standard servos and an engine that's within the recommended size range, the stock CA hinges and thin CA works fine. If your planning to use high torque servos and a big engine, then I would recommend some Robart hinge points and gluing them with epoxy or maybe polyurethane glue.
Old 05-30-2007, 11:55 PM
  #5997  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I use the Great Planes or Dubro flat pinned hinges and glue them in place with 30 minute epoxy. I've had a lot of trouble with my 60 size breaking the wood around the hing on the elevators. About every 10 or so flights it breaks them. But I fly the plane pretty hard. Love it. It's one of a very few planes that will do an inverted rising flat spin. Pretty amazing really. Love the UCDs but they can be a bit fragile.

I'd defineintly upgrad the hinges.

Thanks
Barry
Old 05-30-2007, 11:56 PM
  #5998  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Also upgrade the pushrods. The 46 comes with 2/56 rods and they clearly aren't strong enough. I use carbon fiber pushrods from Central Hobbies, but many just use 4/40 rod. But you sure have to upgrade them.

Thanks
Barry
Old 05-31-2007, 06:44 AM
  #5999  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

so i could use these from tower Dubro Threaded Rod 4-40 12" (6)
Old 05-31-2007, 07:09 AM
  #6000  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

and i can use the dubro nylon standard hinges right

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.