Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
 U-Can-Do 3d 46? >

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Old 05-31-2007, 07:40 AM
  #6001  
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?


ORIGINAL: Barry Cazier

Also upgrade the pushrods. The 46 comes with 2/56 rods and they clearly aren't strong enough. I use carbon fiber pushrods from Central Hobbies, but many just use 4/40 rod. But you sure have to upgrade them.

Thanks
Barry

I also put carbon fiber sleeves over the 4/40 rods and held them in place with lock nuts sealed with a drop of thin CA. Also drilled three holes along each edge in the mount points for the control horns for the ailerons(just deep enough to get through the monokote) and wicked the CA into them to harden up what amounts to a very soft piece of balsa. It stiffened up the mounts points to where I can fly this thing just about any way I want to now and don't have to worry about flutter. Those are some BIG ailerons and you can't make the mounts and control rods too stiff. Was out flying this week in 20mph winds and other than needing a little reinforcing of the landing gear (a little aeropoxy did the trick), I fly when few others will even think of leaving the ground..........not sure it that's says a lot about my confidence in the build on the a/c or just my stupidity but I'm going with choice A.

Bruce
Old 05-31-2007, 10:08 PM
  #6002  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

can i use this battery for my reciver Hobbico HydriMax 4.8V 1650mAh NiMH Flat U Sanyo? thank for all your help!
Old 05-31-2007, 11:44 PM
  #6003  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

gregziemba...

that's the battery of choice for me in my glow planes. Plenty of run time. Easily 5-6 flights with no worries. Maybe more.

Thanks
barry
Old 06-01-2007, 12:03 PM
  #6004  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oromocto, NB, CANADA
Posts: 188
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Post #6001! That's a lot!
Keep it going!

I will need a new U can do, that plane is just too much fun. After flying that plane for 10 months, yesterday I made a mistake to close to the ground, instead of pulling inverted I try to loop back up! Didn't work too good! But fortunately Traci was to get that on video.
If you want, you can enjoy the clip on youtube!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXS1lLKgK_U

Right now I 'm about done a H9 Extra 260, but I'm planning a new U Can DO, Tower have always good deal!

Enjoy
Eric
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq47423.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	81.7 KB
ID:	695432   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dy78349.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	23.3 KB
ID:	695433  
Old 06-01-2007, 04:20 PM
  #6005  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 170
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hey guys. I just recently returned from training for the national guard. I hadn't flown in about 6 months. So basically I am re-teaching myself how to fly. The only plane i still have is a mini funtana. I have been flying it almost every night for a couple weeks and it is still a blast to fly. I have a .46 AX and a bunch of radio gear. Do you think a U can do would be a decent plane choice? I am still getting used to it, but i have flown the mini funtana a bunch of times with no major accidents. Thanks for any help.
Old 06-01-2007, 10:09 PM
  #6006  
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 878
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Choopi, sorry to see your UCD in that shape

Jomamma, the UCD is one of the planes that I will always have. I don't fly it every time I go to the field but I would miss it allot if I didn't have one.
Old 06-03-2007, 04:33 PM
  #6007  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

do i need a easy fueler for the fuel lines like they suggested or can i just have 2 line coming from the coweling? and what about the glow plug how did you guy do it did you buy the remote? THanks for the help!
Old 06-03-2007, 08:17 PM
  #6008  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hi Greg, Here's what I use for fueling. I have 2 clunks and one of them comes through the cowl to a fuel dot. I don't bother with the Dubro fuel valve since I'm not always sure that it isn't leaking air or not.
I usually don't use a remote glow conection on the plane. I just usually cut a hole in the bottom of the cowl and attach the driver that way. But with the Do I just recently built on put on this Dubro one and can say I'm sure glad I did. It attaches securely and is much easier to use than trying to reach under the cowl. Here's the one I use now....... [link=http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXD693&P=7]dubro glow connector[/link] I put it on the side of the fuse above the right wing and it's very easy to install and use.
Old 06-03-2007, 09:07 PM
  #6009  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

thanks for the help so the pink thing goes i on the glow plug and the black thing is where the glow plug gets inserted into right. and i can use that on four strokes to right.
Old 06-03-2007, 10:18 PM
  #6010  
 
Rocketman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: , MA
Posts: 1,270
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

This is the setup on my well used UCD 46. It once had a Sullivan fueler but this is more reliable.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki19450.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	42.9 KB
ID:	697098  
Old 06-03-2007, 10:55 PM
  #6011  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

ORIGINAL: gregziemba

thanks for the help so the pink thing goes i on the glow plug and the black thing is where the glow plug gets inserted into right. and i can use that on four strokes to right.
Yep! The pink end is heat shrink and a stout wire. You just squeeze the wired parts together and put it on the plug end. It's seems to be a very positive connection. Yeah, the black part is where you plug the glow ignitor into. The wires are long so I just cut off what I didn't need. Works great.
Old 06-03-2007, 10:57 PM
  #6012  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?


ORIGINAL: Rocketman_

This is the setup on my well used UCD 46. It once had a Sullivan fueler but this is more reliable.
Rocketman, I like your set up!! [X(] Looks like good ideas.
Old 06-04-2007, 03:07 AM
  #6013  
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 878
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Rocketman, I really like that setup. Where did you get the bulkhead fittings?
Old 06-04-2007, 07:15 AM
  #6014  
 
Rocketman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: , MA
Posts: 1,270
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I buy those Fourmost bulkhead fittings at my local hobby shop but Tower also stocks them http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...G851&P=SM#tech .
They come two in a package, a yellow and a blue one (See picture, I've already used the blue one).

By the way, I back them up on the inner side of the cowl with a small thin (1 /32) piece of plywood. That may not be necessary but I didn't want to worry about the flexibility of the cowl.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq47002.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	53.3 KB
ID:	697312  
Old 06-04-2007, 09:11 AM
  #6015  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

where does the feul come out when its done feuling up?
Old 06-04-2007, 09:17 AM
  #6016  
 
Rocketman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: , MA
Posts: 1,270
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

It comes out of the tank pressure line at the muffler.
Old 06-04-2007, 09:30 AM
  #6017  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

so one fuel line connects to one of the part and the other piece and the feul line thats out side of the coweling is were you fuel up and when your done the gas come out of the muffler right.
Old 06-04-2007, 01:12 PM
  #6018  
 
Rocketman_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: , MA
Posts: 1,270
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Yes it will come out of the muffler if you fail to disconnect the line from the muffler. It is intended that you disconnect the pressure line from the nipple on the muffler while you are filling the tank.
If your muffler is tucked away and is not easily accessible then you will have to provide another method of catching the overflow from the tank.
Old 06-07-2007, 08:20 AM
  #6019  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Can i buy any remote glow plug starter because im going to use a fourstroke engine?THANKS for the help
Old 06-07-2007, 11:04 AM
  #6020  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I've used a couple of different types and the previous ones that I used the connector on the glow plug would come off due to vibration. The Dubro one I'm currently using seems to holding on good.
Old 06-07-2007, 01:24 PM
  #6021  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I can use that on fourstroke right.
Old 06-07-2007, 07:07 PM
  #6022  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Im going to use a satio 100 what engine mount do you guys use? Thanks for the help
Old 06-08-2007, 06:05 AM
  #6023  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: new ipswich, NH
Posts: 164
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hi all
I'm just starting to build my first do .... Can you reccomend what upgrades in hardware would be a good idea or any other build tips. Will you also reccomend where to buy the upgraded control horns , rods etc.
I have a saito 82 for this bird.

thanks
Old 06-08-2007, 07:28 AM
  #6024  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?


ORIGINAL: gregziemba

I can use that on fourstroke right.
Yep. That's what I'm using. It's a first for me on the Do and I like it. Very handy.
Old 06-08-2007, 07:44 AM
  #6025  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Midhurst, ON, CANADA
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hi Zoott. A small thing that I do when I am assembling any ARF. I find that installing the control horns on the elevator(s), ailerons, and rudder kinda difficult when they are installed in their respective places. Sometimes very difficult to get all 3 screws lined up. So what I do now is to install the control horns on the parts before I hinge them to the plane, and I use a small drill press that I have to make sure all the holes through the surfaces are straight and true.
I go over the Do with a sealing iron on the top and bottom of the wing to take any wrinkles in the skin out. This seems to take a little of the vibration out of the plane and it them makes a little less noise.
The 2 servos in the tail, and the 2 on the wing. Once they are installed I run a small bead of clear silicone around the perimeter of each servo. Helps to keep dirt and oil from penetrating into the interior of the plane, and keeps oil away from the wood frame. Oil will eventually soften the wood and make the screws holding the servos less secure.
I do not use the stock tail wheel. Allways use a Sullivan, which mounts on to the plane rather than the rudder. So if you get a hard landing (and you will) the plane takes the shock rather than the rudder and rudder hinges.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.