Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

GP Waco?

Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

GP Waco?

Old 03-11-2011, 09:38 PM
  #276  
oh44077
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: painesville, OH
Posts: 58
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

i have the cox waco with an os 120 4 stroke, seems to have plenty of power, the wheel pants were a problem but a flying buddy brazed the brackets and they are fine now. the cox instructions left a lot to be desired. go to tower hobbies and you can down load the assembly instructions. they are a lot better than cox. i like the great planes covering better over what ever was used on the cox. if doing it all over again, my choice would be the great planes version.
Old 03-11-2011, 10:19 PM
  #277  
SkyPilot101
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Freedom, PA
Posts: 574
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Has anyone determined that a dle 30 with an inverted pitts muffler will fit without cutting the cowl mounting ring? I'm holding back untill I find out!
Old 03-12-2011, 03:01 AM
  #278  
skillet92
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: camden, SC
Posts: 1,133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?


ORIGINAL: SkyPilot101

Has anyone determined that a dle 30 with an inverted pitts muffler will fit without cutting the cowl mounting ring? I'm holding back untill I find out!
I have not mounted mine yet but the cowl ring will have to be cut to put the 30 on. I did put the 3 spacers on and set the engine in place with the standoffs and the head comes in contact with the fuse. Have not been home to play with adding 4 spacers to see if it can be avoided or not. It looks like it will be a small cut out so I can live with it.
Old 03-12-2011, 05:13 AM
  #279  
Stickbuilder
 
Stickbuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Leesburg, FL
Posts: 8,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?


ORIGINAL: Mpizpilot

You need an O2 mask,the air gets mighty thin on top of your mighty mountain.
Dam Skippy. But we have earned the seat on top of the mountain.

Bill, Waco Brother #1
Old 03-12-2011, 05:46 AM
  #280  
skillet92
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: camden, SC
Posts: 1,133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?


ORIGINAL: Stickbuilder


ORIGINAL: Mpizpilot

You need an O2 mask,the air gets mighty thin on top of your mighty mountain.
Dam Skippy. But we have earned the seat on top of the mountain.

Bill, Waco Brother #1
LOL You guys are funny! And i see both sides here. While I can build( i have built 2 a P-51 and a Corsair) I hate the covering and time that is involved. I have a wife, 3 year old, and 1 year old. My time is very limited. An ARF is the best of both worlds. Yes you don't "build" it yourself but you can do alot to it to make it yours. We have builders at my club and I love to talk to those guys and see the planes that they build. BUT I will say this and Stick don't take offence at it, Most of the builders that fly with me can't fly very well. They are great builders but never maiden their own aircraft.

OK enough on that, Back to the WACO, I have ordered a 19x7 and a 20x6 predrilled for the dle30. I hope that I will have clearance for the 20 because I think that will be the better pitch. I have also decided to go with the JTech Pitts made for the aeroworks Cessna. It will stay in the cowl except for the pipes. I am also going to put smoke on mine.
Old 03-12-2011, 12:32 PM
  #281  
Stickbuilder
 
Stickbuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Leesburg, FL
Posts: 8,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Bring it to me. I'll fly it like I stole it. I flew my first R/C in 1957, and did loops and rolls with rudder only.

You guys should not take what I said the wrong way. You know in your heart of hearts, that you are assembling. Don't take away from those of us who do our own. My 27% is my own drawing, and it is 100% scale outline. Yes, I am drawing it, will cut it, will build it, and will fly it.

Bill, Waco Brother #1
Old 03-12-2011, 12:36 PM
  #282  
FlyerJeff
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
FlyerJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Horse Shoe, NC
Posts: 121
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

ORIGINAL: Stickbuilder

Bring it to me. I'll fly it like I stole it. I flew my first R/C in 1957, and did loops and rolls with rudder only.

You guys should not take what I said the wrong way. You know in your heart of hearts, that you are assembling. Don't take away from those of us who do our own. My 27% is my own drawing, and it is 100% scale outline. Yes, I am drawing it, will cut it, will build it, and will fly it.

Bill, Waco Brother #1
Stickbuilder, Just a FYI in case you missed it.

You’re in an ARF-RTF forum.

Also, you seem to have an issue with my post and the word Build, so I took the word out.
Old 03-12-2011, 03:45 PM
  #283  
Mpizpilot
My Feedback: (45)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wading River, NY
Posts: 1,051
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?


ORIGINAL: Stickbuilder


ORIGINAL: Mpizpilot

You need an O2 mask,the air gets mighty thin on top of your mighty mountain.
Dam Skippy. But we have earned the seat on top of the mountain.

Bill, Waco Brother #1
Lol, ba zinnga!
Old 03-12-2011, 05:24 PM
  #284  
MormonMike
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: millville, UT
Posts: 1,434
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Nearing completion. Photos tomorrow. MM
Old 03-12-2011, 05:41 PM
  #285  
skillet92
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: camden, SC
Posts: 1,133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

MM I thought that I read earlier that you were going to build it by the plans. So how did you hook up the 4 wing servos?
Old 03-12-2011, 07:30 PM
  #286  
MormonMike
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: millville, UT
Posts: 1,434
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Funny you should ask. I'm still trying to decide which hook-up will be best for this application. I believe it calls for twin 'Y' connects on and for the aileron RX plug in the book but I usually hook up seperate aileron servos, aileron for left and AUX 2 for right connect. I'll sleep on it for the night and start again in the morning. I should go by the book but I dunno, we'll see. Other than that, it's pretty much done. I'll install dummy motor after a test flight [if it does'nt cause cooling problems like it did on the Super Stearman] and go from there. This really is a top quality ARF and I can hardly wait to get the second one........ I'll also include weight and balance needs tomorrow too with the pics applicable for the OS 1.20 install. MM WACO Bro 186
Old 03-12-2011, 10:25 PM
  #287  
frank99
My Feedback: (29)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sheridan, AR
Posts: 809
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

mm saw one in the lhs and it seems huge, just found this blog and will read it all but, what equipment is in your aircraft? thanks when the pics post frank
Old 03-13-2011, 05:37 AM
  #288  
skillet92
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: camden, SC
Posts: 1,133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Frank not sure of MM stuff, but I have DLE 30 and Pitts and Hitec 625's in the wing and 645's for rudder and elevator. I will be putting smoke on mine after the first couple of flights so I can get the hang of her. I have built mine per plans except for the elevator connection. And yes it is a large plane. And I have not mounted my wings on it yet to get a true Idea how big. I get home Saturday from this TDY and cannot wait.
Old 03-13-2011, 05:52 AM
  #289  
SkyPilot101
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Freedom, PA
Posts: 574
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

What did you do different with the elevator, two servos? I'm surprised that by the size of this thing that that's not the stock setup!
Old 03-13-2011, 07:57 AM
  #290  
skillet92
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: camden, SC
Posts: 1,133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

SkyPilot no nothing that elaborate( but that is a good Idea to look into). I have never liked using the e/z connectors for control surfaces so i soldered together the two control rods and soldered a threaded end onto one of them for a dubro safety kwik link. Simple but safer IMO. But the 2 servo idea is something to give some thought to!
Old 03-13-2011, 08:03 AM
  #291  
Stickbuilder
 
Stickbuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Leesburg, FL
Posts: 8,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Before you guys go nuts, look at the amount of throw that is called for. These are not fully aerobatic airplanes. You don't need 2 servos for the elevator or rudder for that matter. The scale manuvers are all very gentle.

Bill, Waco Brother #1
Old 03-13-2011, 08:18 AM
  #292  
skillet92
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: camden, SC
Posts: 1,133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

I agree with ya stick. This is no 3D machine and does not need the large throws, but for a couple of extra ozs you can have a little redundency on a critical surface. And the room is there for it. I have not weighted mine yet but think I can be just over 13pounds.

I have been reading a lot on engines and am starting to wonder if I can get by with a dle 20. I am worried that the 30 will have to much speed for the pitch I might have to have with the engine. I can use a 20x6 but don't know if the landing gear is going to be tall enough for clearance. I have not installed my engine yet so I have time to make the change. I have both.
Old 03-13-2011, 08:20 AM
  #293  
SkyPilot101
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Freedom, PA
Posts: 574
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Scale Manuvers???.......Well maybe you! I just detest any linkage setup that uses two control rods to a single servo , Guess its an ARF thing
Old 03-13-2011, 11:13 AM
  #294  
Stickbuilder
 
Stickbuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Leesburg, FL
Posts: 8,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?


ORIGINAL: SkyPilot101

Scale Manuvers???.......Well maybe you! I just detest any linkage setup that uses two control rods to a single servo , Guess its an ARF thing
Must be. Difference is, that I join my elevator halves and move them via a horn that attaches to the joiner, and is hidden inside the fuselage. Of course, my scale planes tend to last for years, rather than for weeks. I have one scale plane that has logged over 1000 flights, and is now nearly 16 years old. Might be due to not flying them outside of the scale envelope.

Bill, Waco Brother #1
Old 03-13-2011, 11:47 AM
  #295  
MormonMike
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: millville, UT
Posts: 1,434
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

OK, Here it is. Having trouble with internet lock. I'll post pics here for now cause my link can go any time. I'll explain below. MM
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	tr50930.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	3.64 MB
ID:	1578079   Click image for larger version

Name:	lj21712.jpg
Views:	171
Size:	3.57 MB
ID:	1578080   Click image for larger version

Name:	xv64888.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	3.62 MB
ID:	1578081   Click image for larger version

Name:	hf98106.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	3.61 MB
ID:	1578082   Click image for larger version

Name:	ay73705.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	3.50 MB
ID:	1578083   Click image for larger version

Name:	om31770.jpg
Views:	168
Size:	3.51 MB
ID:	1578084  
Old 03-13-2011, 11:58 AM
  #296  
MormonMike
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: millville, UT
Posts: 1,434
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

First, Yes, the dummy engine is out until the first flight, check for any engine or mount problems then I'll install it. Upper cabane screws are a pain to install, just like the GP Super Stearman. There is quite a bit of bend stress pushing wing down to the rear top cabane mounts. With 0 degree incidence on horizontal tail and bottom wing, the meter shows 1 degree neg incidence on top wing. That should get the bottom wing flying before the top wing. Your comments on this please. Use 24" or better 30" extension for left top wing. 12 inch barely makes it to the access slot. Last, just no way to hide the top wing servo wires going down into the fuse. Comments on that one too please. Just too difficult to make a scale tail wheel that would work. What do you guys think of my alternate install Gotta go, MM
Old 03-13-2011, 12:04 PM
  #297  
cannonball200
My Feedback: (36)
 
cannonball200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 334
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Waco look'in good.......

Thanks,
Old 03-13-2011, 12:05 PM
  #298  
oh44077
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: painesville, OH
Posts: 58
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

regarding what engine fits,go to tower hobbies, then great planes, download the instruction manual and at the end of the manual you can get an idea of what fits. if nothing else gives you an idea of how the plane goes together.
Old 03-13-2011, 12:06 PM
  #299  
MormonMike
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: millville, UT
Posts: 1,434
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Wife says out of all 40 active planes, this is her favorite. Guess the Stinson 108-2 and 108-3 are now going to the "back-seat". Full weight is 13.3 pounds using the OS 1.20. Not sure what size tank is provided, wonder if its about a 24 oz'er. Plenty of flying time with it though. Well, what do you guys think ? Whos putting slave rods on for the upper wing ailerons ? Oh, for the fellow that asked about the hook-up for the aileron servos, I chose to use individual RX plugs, AIL and AUX 1. It eliminates one extra "Y" connect. MM
Old 03-13-2011, 12:16 PM
  #300  
cannonball200
My Feedback: (36)
 
cannonball200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 334
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Skillet92;

Here is a link to see a GP Stearman flying with a DLE20. It is about the same size plane and looks like it has plenty!!!! of power. I've got my DLE20 mounted on my Waco and it sure works out good as for size too.
Thanks,





http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RMQ_iaB3x1A


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.