Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

Old 07-10-2003, 03:17 PM
  #1  
Lean540
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Lean540's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 147
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

I have ordered one of these and I am wondering if there is anyone with some experience out there that could help with construction tips, engine recommendation etc.
Any input would be greatly appreciated.
Thanx in advance.
Lean540
Old 07-10-2003, 04:17 PM
  #2  
David_Moen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salmon ArmBritish Columbia, CANADA
Posts: 1,405
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

Do a search for "Vector" there are lots of recent conversations.

I've got a 66" Extra on order, hopr to have it in a week or so. I will be doing a thorough review.
Old 07-10-2003, 04:37 PM
  #3  
SunShyne
My Feedback: (68)
 
SunShyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 4,207
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

Yes they are excellent planes. I have an older Extra 300 and plan on getting the 66" one soon.
Old 07-10-2003, 07:39 PM
  #4  
cootertwo
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Immokalee, FL
Posts: 163
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

I have one of their 58" 300's Wing comes in one piece. I got mine when they were still "Epic". It is a great plane. I have a Magnum 91 four stroke on it.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	92933_37178.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	60.7 KB
ID:	53458  
Old 07-10-2003, 08:40 PM
  #5  
SunShyne
My Feedback: (68)
 
SunShyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 4,207
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

I got the exact same one cooter has Got a Saito 80 on mine
Old 07-14-2003, 11:01 PM
  #6  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

I have the 58 inch version (HAD) and did a report on it. It is a great flying plane and the performance on a 2 stroke engine is excellent.
Old 07-20-2003, 07:35 PM
  #7  
sydwys
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dublin, CA,
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

I have built the 66" version with a Magnum .91 XLS on it. Unfortunately, I can not provide much input since the engine decided to quit after 4 days of breaking-in, flying, testing different props and mixture settings. I sent it back to Global Hobby for repairs. I can, definitely, say that the plane is very responsive and wonderfully stable at any speed and the Magnum .91 XLS seemed like a good match for it. As far as building tips: Ask all of your questions to Vectorflight customer service. They were remarkable throughout my build. All of my questions were answered within a couple of hours, some even on weekends.
Old 07-21-2003, 04:27 AM
  #8  
David_Moen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salmon ArmBritish Columbia, CANADA
Posts: 1,405
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

I'm waiting for my 66" Extra, was hoping to get my hands on a Magnum .91 XLS as well. Sorry to hear yours packed it in on you! What went wrong?
Old 07-21-2003, 08:03 AM
  #9  
sydwys
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dublin, CA,
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

It started by leaking compression in the back where the head meets the engine block. From there, it progressed to an overheating condition and eventually caused damage to the cylinder head. When I pulled the head to see what might have gone wrong, I noticed at least three of the head screws were loose and the others were just finger tight. Once I pulled the head, I found no head gasket (no remnants of a gasket that might have once been there either). My guess is whoever put it together on the assembly line at the factory had drifted off into lala land while my engine was passing through his hands.
Old 07-21-2003, 12:59 PM
  #10  
David_Moen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salmon ArmBritish Columbia, CANADA
Posts: 1,405
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

Sorry to hear that! After all the (reasonably) good reviews on the Magnums, I'm suprised to hear of your experience. I've heard great things about Global Hobby's support though.
Old 07-21-2003, 05:12 PM
  #11  
sydwys
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dublin, CA,
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

The reason why I choose it over the OS .91 FX was in fact what I have read here as well. I sent the engine in last Wednesday. Let's see if Global Hobby customer service will live up to its reputation.
Old 07-30-2003, 06:51 PM
  #12  
SNIGGEMANN
Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 90
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

I have been working on my 300S 58" for the last three nights and it is going really well thus far. Vectorflight customer service is incredible so if you have any little question don't hesitate to e-mail them. I have had a fair amount of correspondence with them thus far and they have been great. I had some trouble figuring out the belly pan installation but if you go to the supplemental instructions for the 66" 300S it shows you how its done. I also went a step further with the belly pan where I used small nylon bolts and brass threaded inserts instead of wood screws to attach the pan as indicated. This way I can attach and remove the wing at the field. I'll probably be installing the engine and cowling this evening and if it goes fast enough maybe the radio too. Another note, I would recommend getting the filler tube set-up from Dubro, it fit perfectly in the precut hole.
Old 07-30-2003, 07:04 PM
  #13  
sydwys
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dublin, CA,
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

Just an update for those who are considering using the Magnum .91XLS: Yesterday, I received a brand new engine in its box from Global Hobby. Made sure the gasket was there and the head bolts were tight. It will go back in probably tonight. I am hoping to break it in and hopefully get in a few flights by this weekend.
Old 07-30-2003, 07:12 PM
  #14  
SunShyne
My Feedback: (68)
 
SunShyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 4,207
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

thanks for the heads up sydwys.

I flew mine this past week the MDS 68 and it was fine. Not a power monger like I expeceted but ill try diff props and see what happens. I got mine used and it came with a new belly pan. Does anyone mind posting or emailing a copy of the instructions on how to install it? I have the 58" version.

thanks

matt
Old 07-30-2003, 07:17 PM
  #15  
sydwys
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dublin, CA,
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

Here are the instructions for the 66" version. I assume 58" would be the same: http://www.vectorflight.com/Extra300...tructions.html
Old 07-30-2003, 07:47 PM
  #16  
SunShyne
My Feedback: (68)
 
SunShyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 4,207
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

the page is not displaying
Old 07-30-2003, 07:58 PM
  #17  
sydwys
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dublin, CA,
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

Strange! It displays for me. Go to www.vectorflight.com. Click on "Supplementary instructions" at the bottom of the page. Select "Extra 300S 66 in".
Old 07-30-2003, 08:05 PM
  #18  
SunShyne
My Feedback: (68)
 
SunShyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 4,207
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

thanks pal
Old 07-31-2003, 04:18 PM
  #19  
SNIGGEMANN
Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 90
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

I didn't get the cowl done yet but I hacked it up a little more than I would have liked. The hole for the head is pretty big. Does anyone know if taking the head cap off would be advisable when fitting the cowl? I have always heard not to take the engine apart unless absolutely necessary. Also, I am going to fuel proof the entire inside of the fuse with a clear enamel, has anyone else used enamel with good results?
Old 07-31-2003, 10:27 PM
  #20  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

I have a new Cowl and a used one for anyone interested!?
Old 07-31-2003, 10:28 PM
  #21  
SunShyne
My Feedback: (68)
 
SunShyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 4,207
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

Miles, is the one that fits the one you sold me? Id like to have it if possible
Old 07-31-2003, 11:12 PM
  #22  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

Yes, I had two planes and never installed the cowl. I don't remember how I got the third one. Shipping is $5 when I sent the first cowl and belly pan. I will ship the old and new cowl for $15. You know my paypal if interested.
Old 08-03-2003, 09:13 PM
  #23  
SNIGGEMANN
Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 90
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

I have finished my 300S 58"! Went to the field earlier but the weather was not cooperating so I'll give it a few hours to see if it clears. I ended up having a problem with the fuel tank installation. When I pushed it into the, fuse unbeknown to me, the brass tubes from the tank cut the silicone tubing. I did'nt realize this until there was fuel running all over the fuse when I went to fill it! So if you are putting one of these together you will need to notch out space for the tubes to side in the two formers through which they pass. I witnessed the need to fuel-proof the ENTIRE inside of the fuse! Thank God I did!
The cowl ended up coming out OK. The enlarged hole for the head works well because I can get my finger in the cowl so I can cover the carb for priming purposes. I think if I get another cowl I will end up painting it rather than using the decals. They got pretty wrinkly at the nose.
I will let you know how my first flight goes.
Old 08-04-2003, 12:52 PM
  #24  
SNIGGEMANN
Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 90
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

Well I took my first flight last night. It was kind of late in the day but I managed to get one flight in. It was not without incident as the engine was giving me trouble. It had seized up before I was able to take off. A couple of guys from my club helped me get it free and running again so I got it fired up and took off. It did not take long before it jumped off the ground and into the air. It only needed about three clicks right aileron trim to level her out. I am not used to flying something so responsive so it took a few maneuvers to learn to go real easy on the elevator. I have them at about 15 deg on low rates which is plenty for now. I was able to make about 4 or 5 passes before the engine quit! Not what I really wanted for my first flight. I ran out of field and speed so it went into the tall grass/weeds, it was going pretty slow by the time it hit the tall stuff. It flipped over on its back and the gear was bent a little. Other than the gear there was'nt a scratch! Now I've just got to run in my engine a little before I go out again. I think I may add a little castor to my fuel to get better lubrication. At any rate the plane flew great and it held up very well in the rough landing.
Old 08-04-2003, 02:17 PM
  #25  
SunShyne
My Feedback: (68)
 
SunShyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 4,207
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default VectorFlight 300s, anygood?

snigg sorry to hear about that. I had the EXACt same problems yesterday. I could not get the engine dialed in correctly and I deadsticked in tall weeeds, it cartwheeled and broke the firewall. EZ fix but what a pain in the *****..

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.