Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Real Flight RC Plane Simulator

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Real Flight RC Plane Simulator

Old 06-29-2013, 08:56 PM
Dawgman10

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Real Flight RC Plane Simulator

I am new to flying RC Planes and am looking forward to buying the Super Cub DSM RTF. I went to the hobby shop and the guy there told me he suggests I get "Real Flight Simulator 6.5". This simulator is pretty expensive and I was wondering if there was another good RC Plane Simulator out there that is cheaper. Also, how important it is to master flying on the simulator before you fly a real RC Plane. I tried out the simulator at the shop, and I crashed my plane quite a bit.
Thanks
Old 06-29-2013, 09:13 PM
1320Fastback

Default RE: Real Flight RC Plane Simulator

You can get older versions of Real Flight for way less than the newest version.
I would get 3.5 or above and you should only be in it for $30-$60.
They also have Real Flight Basic which is $100.00 new.

Simulators are great for getting your motor skill and orientation down but they can only do so much.

They will not teach you anything about all the variables such as:
Plane setup and preflight items like CG, linkages, electrical connection ect.
Ground handeling is also harder in real life, planes can weave all over the place before takeoff.
MisTrimmed planes are a real life thing also. Yes you can really mess up the trims and fly in the Sim but it should happen at random so you learn how to trim WHILE flying.
Other distraction like insects, bees, birds, dogs, people, ect are also something to deal with.

All this said.... We all have Simulators and they will help you get comfortable with how the transmitters work and your fingers doing the rite motions.
Old 06-30-2013, 12:31 AM
bigtim
My Feedback: (13)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts