Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

School Project - Help

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

School Project - Help

Old 09-20-2013, 10:49 AM
Petkov

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default School Project - Help

Hi,

I am currently in an University competition representing my school and my team is tasked with building an RC plane which will be designed to undergo several challenging missions. Most of us are total newbies when it comes to RC planes and I am sure all of you guys are really experienced so I came here to look for some help.

As a mechanical engineering student, I know a decent amount about the construction of the plane and have help build a few over the years. My main issue currently is with the propulsion, and this is where I figured you guys could help me out. I need to figure out what kind of batteries, motor, esc and fuse to use.

Fuse:
I am limited to use a 15 amp fuse but this can be a slow blow type. In fact I am trying to get as much over that 15 limit to give me an edge over the competition. Do you guys have any recommendation for a 15 amp rated fuse that can get 17, 18, or even 19 amp averages over 5 minutes without blowing? (yes, competition rules require a fuse because it is used as a quick way to make sure everyone is following the power requirements without taking the plane apart and for safety reasons. The fuse is the last thing to add before takeoff and first thing to remove after landing.)

Batteries:
They only need to last 4-5 minutes. This includes take off, flight, and landing. But my main constraint is 15 amp current. Unfortunately, I am limited to NiHM and cannot use LIPO ones :/ Do you guys have any advice on how I can determine what batteries would be best for the application?

Motor: