Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Question for Cortex Experts

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Question for Cortex Experts

Old 03-29-2019, 05:30 AM
  #1  
SECRET AGENT
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
SECRET AGENT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Bush, LA
Posts: 1,260
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Question for Cortex Experts

I have a Cortex (the old version, not the pro version) on an Avonds F-16 set up for taileron only. Everything works as they should to input commands from the transmitter. But, when the Cortex is on and I manipulate the jet to test the gyro reaction, both stabs react together on elevator changes but on aileron deflection only the port side stab reacts to changes. Is this normal? I don't see why it wouldn't work, just curious if both stabs should be reacting and I have something wrong.

Any thoughts?

Last edited by SECRET AGENT; 03-29-2019 at 05:33 AM.
Old 03-29-2019, 08:03 AM
  #2  
F1 Rocket
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 568
Likes: 0
Received 33 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

If the taileron mix was active when you did the Cortex programming sequence it should work. If not, redo the programming. Make sure the taileron mix is active and that you wait for the first double green LED flash, then start the stick movement sequence.

Danny
Old 03-29-2019, 09:04 AM
  #3  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,185
Received 257 Likes on 206 Posts
Default

Can't get any more expert than that.
Old 03-29-2019, 10:22 AM
  #4  
SECRET AGENT
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
SECRET AGENT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Bush, LA
Posts: 1,260
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Yes, the taileron mix was active before I conducted the gyro learning sequence. I even relearned it numerous times to make sure I wasn't doing it wrong.

I've been told by a friend (offline) that I need to plug the Cortex into a computer and using the Cortex software change the Cortex programming to "taileron" for it to work correctly.

Do y'all concur?
Old 03-29-2019, 11:08 AM
  #5  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,185
Received 257 Likes on 206 Posts
Default

When you do the teaching process, if both outputs are plugged into the Cortex, and the mix is active, when you move aileron it takes note of which ports receive aileron input, and when you move elevators it does the same. You shouldn't, as far as I remember, have to fiddle with the software for the Cortex.
Old 03-29-2019, 11:32 AM
  #6  
SECRET AGENT
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
SECRET AGENT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Bush, LA
Posts: 1,260
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Yeah, it's very strange. The tailerons work normally when the sticks are moved, and the gyro moves both stabs when correcting pitch, but only the port stab when correcting roll.
Old 03-29-2019, 02:33 PM
  #7  
F1 Rocket
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 568
Likes: 0
Received 33 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

There is no special taileron setting in the software. The system learns the mix during the programming sequence . Itís possible you donít have enough travel on aileron for it to pick up the one servo. Try increasing the travel a bit and re-teach the system,

Dsnny
Old 03-29-2019, 03:38 PM
  #8  
SECRET AGENT
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
SECRET AGENT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Bush, LA
Posts: 1,260
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I'll give that a try and let you know, thanks for the suggestion Danny.
Old 03-30-2019, 04:15 AM
  #9  
SECRET AGENT
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
SECRET AGENT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Bush, LA
Posts: 1,260
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Danny, you were 100% correct, I increased the travel, re-learned the gyro and it works perfectly now. Thank you so much for your help with my issue, I really appreciate it.

Mike
Old 03-30-2019, 04:34 AM
  #10  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,185
Received 257 Likes on 206 Posts
Default

Can I postulate that if your throws weren't enough to get the Cortex to pick up the ailerons correctly that you may be mechanically setup not to your best advantage?
Old 03-30-2019, 05:44 AM
  #11  
SECRET AGENT
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
SECRET AGENT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Bush, LA
Posts: 1,260
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Let's hope not.
Old 03-30-2019, 06:07 AM
  #12  
tp777fo
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 3,372
Received 60 Likes on 45 Posts
Default

No you're in good shape. PA engineers all that to perfection. I didnt think about teaching at 100% then backi ng off. Glad you got it fixed
Old 12-08-2021, 08:31 PM
  #13  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,066
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Iím hoping someone is still monitoring this thread. I want to setup my Flex Jet Pro so that the tailerons only activate when the flaperons are fully deployed but so far as I know there is only one learning process for the cortex. Iím assuming this config is not possible? Thx
Old 12-08-2021, 11:13 PM
  #14  
LA jetguy
 
LA jetguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 807
Received 42 Likes on 34 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tip22v View Post
Iím hoping someone is still monitoring this thread. I want to setup my Flex Jet Pro so that the tailerons only activate when the flaperons are fully deployed but so far as I know there is only one learning process for the cortex. Iím assuming this config is not possible? Thx
I used flight modes to achieve that .. then you can set different gyro gain for each flight mode. I have this setup on my F16.. when flaperons are in landing modeÖ elevators will become tailerons..

David
Old 12-09-2021, 02:11 AM
  #15  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,644
Received 68 Likes on 60 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tip22v View Post
Iím hoping someone is still monitoring this thread. I want to setup my Flex Jet Pro so that the tailerons only activate when the flaperons are fully deployed but so far as I know there is only one learning process for the cortex. Iím assuming this config is not possible? Thx
Are you a Jeti user? If so I can send you my Tx file.

Teach the Cortex when flaperons are in the up position. (Pure ailerons)
Old 12-09-2021, 06:06 AM
  #16  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,066
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Thanks, yes Iím a Jeti user. So, teach the cortex with the flaperons in straight aileron mode, which is how I have it now, when I switch the elevators into taileron mode with the flaps deployed I assume roll stabilization from the gyro is done via the flaperons because the cortex does not know about the taileron config?
Old 12-09-2021, 06:10 AM
  #17  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,066
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by LA jetguy View Post
I used flight modes to achieve that .. then you can set different gyro gain for each flight mode. I have this setup on my F16.. when flaperons are in landing modeÖ elevators will become tailerons..

David
Iím using flight modes now with different gains for each flap setting with 25, 35, 45 for flaps up, mid, full down, respectively. Do you notice any difference in handling when you switch to tailerons?
Old 12-09-2021, 06:16 AM
  #18  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,644
Received 68 Likes on 60 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tip22v View Post
Thanks, yes Iím a Jeti user. So, teach the cortex with the flaperons in straight aileron mode, which is how I have it now, when I switch the elevators into taileron mode with the flaps deployed I assume roll stabilization from the gyro is done via the flaperons because the cortex does not know about the taileron config?
Yes the ailerons will still compensate for outside roll inputs when in the full flap position.
Old 12-09-2021, 06:19 AM
  #19  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,644
Received 68 Likes on 60 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tip22v View Post
Iím using flight modes now with different gains for each flap setting with 25, 35, 45 for flaps up, mid, full down, respectively. Do you notice any difference in handling when you switch to tailerons?
My Gain values are 30/50/80, the roll function is not as quick in taileron mode. I go full flaps on my downwind leg, you could always wait until you turn final to lower the flaps completely.
Old 12-09-2021, 07:49 AM
  #20  
LA jetguy
 
LA jetguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 807
Received 42 Likes on 34 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tip22v View Post
Iím using flight modes now with different gains for each flap setting with 25, 35, 45 for flaps up, mid, full down, respectively. Do you notice any difference in handling when you switch to tailerons?
Yes helps banking during landing mode.. I also assigned a switch to have tailerons active during cruise mode.. that will a full scale ďtail skidĒ during banking

I named that switch which is another flight mode ďHigh RatesĒ

David
Old 12-09-2021, 01:51 PM
  #21  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,066
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Thanks for the help. When you switch to tailerons in high speed flight do you also keep your ailerons active? Same question when the flaperons are fully deployed and you activate tailerons, do you keep your ailerons active too?
Old 12-09-2021, 03:37 PM
  #22  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,644
Received 68 Likes on 60 Posts
Default

I only use flaperons and flaps for take off and landing. When the flaps are all the way up it is strictly ailerons and elevator

Old 12-09-2021, 09:22 PM
  #23  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,066
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Thanks so much for the video, that answered all of my questions
Old 12-09-2021, 10:21 PM
  #24  
LA jetguy
 
LA jetguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 807
Received 42 Likes on 34 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bob_B View Post
I only use flaperons and flaps for take off and landing. When the flaps are all the way up it is strictly ailerons and elevator

https://youtu.be/vgW5xr4a14Q
Yes.. I have the exact setup Ö. But have a switch to turn on and off ailevons during cruise (normal) flight mode.. during landing and take off the ailevons are active
Old 12-10-2021, 01:58 AM
  #25  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,644
Received 68 Likes on 60 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tip22v View Post
Thanks so much for the video, that answered all of my questions

Iím still flying that exact setup a year later. It is a great flying model btw.
You will find that when you drop the gear for landing the model slows considerably. Enjoy!

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.