Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

New Sebart Wind 50E

Old 01-06-2011, 08:54 PM
  #226  
My Feedback: (5)
 
desertrider49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 284
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E


ORIGINAL: nosram

Randy,
Do you think it could be your BEC causing a bit of interference, and causing the servo neutrals to wander. It might be a good idea to check the servo neutrals as you gun the motor. Flying the plane with a seperate reciever battery would prove it either way. The other thing that it might be, if you are using 72MHz and pull pull on the rudder, is the control wires touching and causing a small amount of interference. I crossed my wires, because they would rub on the rear most former. In time they would saw throw the former and them become slack.
Hope that helps a bit,
Nosram
I don't think it could be the BEC, I did a range check and it was rock solid. But if the BEC is too close to the battery, could that cause interference?

I'm on 2.4 so no on that interference.

Keep those ideas coming in...
Old 01-06-2011, 10:38 PM
  #227  
Senior Member
 
Andy P.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Leicester, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 316
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

desertrider,

which Tx are you using? A friend of mine was having similar issues with a brand new Spektrum 8 ch Tx last Sunday, turns out that when he moved the throttle stick up and down it moved the rudder center position, he found this out whilst observing in the monitor screen. The values were around + - 10% and didn't correct themselves, just stayed where they were!



Old 01-06-2011, 10:47 PM
  #228  
My Feedback: (5)
 
desertrider49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 284
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E


ORIGINAL: Andy P.

desertrider,

which Tx are you using? A friend of mine was having similar issues with a brand new Spektrum 8 ch Tx last Sunday, turns out that when he moved the throttle stick up and down it moved the rudder center position, he found this out whilst observing in the monitor screen. The values were around + - 10% and didn't correct themselves, just stayed where they were!



I have a Futaba 9C super with the Spektrum 2.4 Ghz module. I've breifly looked at that screen you mention and I didn't notice anything odd, but now that you mention it, I'll take a another look.
Old 01-07-2011, 08:47 AM
  #229  
My Feedback: (45)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 2,861
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

You could be having pot issues in your TX also. There is nothing on the plane that would make it behave like that.
Old 01-08-2011, 06:22 AM
  #230  
Member
 
crazyf3a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: AUSTRIA
Posts: 90
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

Hello
Here are Pictures about the engine mount. The engine fit perfect.
I'm curious how that thing flies.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	sp45056.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	170.6 KB
ID:	1543959   Click image for larger version

Name:	av68529.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	72.7 KB
ID:	1543960   Click image for larger version

Name:	lq36585.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	68.6 KB
ID:	1543961  
Old 01-08-2011, 11:25 AM
  #231  
My Feedback: (5)
 
desertrider49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 284
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E


ORIGINAL: crazyf3a

Hello
Here are Pictures about the engine mount. The engine fit perfect.
I'm curious how that thing flies.
I have 6 short flights on mine and I can tell you it flies fast. I will probably be flying at 1/4-1/3 throttle for straight and level, and not much more than that for the vertical lines. As far as the control surfaces go, I'm at about 8-10 degrees of deflection on both the ailerons and elevators and that may be too much.
Old 01-08-2011, 04:37 PM
  #232  
My Feedback: (5)
 
desertrider49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 284
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

Hi all;

Good news and another issue. I solved the rolling issue by installing another satellite receiver.

The next issue is: when I fly into the wind I get a snapping or popping noise. Any ideas ?

Thanks
Randy
Old 01-08-2011, 05:28 PM
  #233  
My Feedback: (45)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 2,861
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

Sounds like an airflow issue with either the cowl, or possibly some loose covering or something.

Arch
Old 01-08-2011, 06:13 PM
  #234  
My Feedback: (5)
 
desertrider49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 284
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E


ORIGINAL: rcpattern

Sounds like an airflow issue with either the cowl, or possibly some loose covering or something.

Arch
I openend the holes in the bottom of the fuse, and there are cutouts in the firewall, do you think I should open them also ?
Old 01-08-2011, 08:23 PM
  #235  
 
DaveL322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Medford, NJ
Posts: 559
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E


ORIGINAL: Andy P.

desertrider,

which Tx are you using? A friend of mine was having similar issues with a brand new Spektrum 8 ch Tx last Sunday, turns out that when he moved the throttle stick up and down it moved the rudder center position, he found this out whilst observing in the monitor screen. The values were around + - 10% and didn't correct themselves, just stayed where they were!
Andy,

That sounds like a stick calibration issue, or a loose pot. Best to have your friend check with the service center.

Regards,
Old 01-09-2011, 07:55 AM
  #236  
My Feedback: (45)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 2,861
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E


ORIGINAL: desertrider49


ORIGINAL: rcpattern

Sounds like an airflow issue with either the cowl, or possibly some loose covering or something.

Arch
I openend the holes in the bottom of the fuse, and there are cutouts in the firewall, do you think I should open them also ?
I didn't open then on mine and haven't had any issues. I would look for something that just doesnt seem right. If the cowl fit isn't exact it could be flapping or something.

Arch
Old 01-11-2011, 01:23 PM
  #237  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: , , TAIWAN
Posts: 64
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E


ORIGINAL: crazyf3a

Hello
Here are Pictures about the engine mount. The engine fit perfect.
I'm curious how that thing flies.
what motor is that? how many walts and max current? looks nice.
Old 01-11-2011, 02:18 PM
  #238  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: , CA
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

Tasos/Harri,
Brilliant idea on coating the stab tube with CA. Did the same on mine. The tube wasn't actually a bad fit out of the box, but doing this did make it very, very nice. Also ran pull-pull and adjusted the top rudder hinge by about 0.5mm. Can't wait for first flight! Thanks for sharing-
Rick

ORIGINAL: tmark65

Harri,

I followed your guidance for the CA so to create a film, It worked, I'm very happy.
Actually I decided to glue the carbon rod on the left stab to make it more secure, then I applied the CA on the rod gradually, to achieve the perfect fit. This was on all the length of the rod cause the sTab tube was also loose. At the end I managed to make it PERFECT, as it was to be.

I also fixed the rudder hinges problem. DONE, no more that 5'

I decided to make it look more pattern and installed the rudder in the frame with pull-pull cord, included in the kit. Unfortunately the chineese hasn't much info about it and I did it as i knew.

Overall now I'm happy and can't wait to fly.
If I had also some battery packs .........

Hope you like it, Tasos
Old 01-11-2011, 11:05 PM
  #239  
Member
 
crazyf3a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: AUSTRIA
Posts: 90
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

ORIGINAL: koakiss


ORIGINAL: crazyf3a

Hello
Here are Pictures about the engine mount. The engine fit perfect.
I'm curious how that thing flies.
what motor is that? how many walts and max current? looks nice.
Hi
The motor is a KONTRONIK Kora Top 30-27 with 270KV.Made in Germany. I fly with 8S Lipo 3.300mAh and a 17x12 APC. And reduced Trottle stick. I mesured full trottle 29,8 V and 58.8 A 1752 A mesured with Unitest 2. And 6588 rpm mesured with my Fut 9Z. A I forget The motor have a third bearing and runs beautyful like a Pletti. ;o)) . It is perfect for this plane. To fly with 6 Lipos you must have the Kora Top 30-40 with 400KV. The engine fit perfekt with a Motor Back plate of 4 - 5 mm.
SR
andreas
Old 01-15-2011, 10:29 PM
  #240  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: , CA
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E



Ifinally finished my Wind. Love that anhedral. I'm using the recommended Hacker motor, Ice Light 75, Zippy Flightmax 4000/20C, 16x12, Futaba 9551x3 +9650x2 plus a separate 1600mAh NiMh receiver pack. All up weight just over 7 pounds. First flight this weekend!

</p>
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Om33898.jpg
Views:	156
Size:	148.0 KB
ID:	1548671   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rm37310.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	146.4 KB
ID:	1548672   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tz67060.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	93.1 KB
ID:	1548673   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qk21210.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	39.0 KB
ID:	1548674   Click image for larger version

Name:	Db85686.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	96.8 KB
ID:	1548675   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca82484.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	158.4 KB
ID:	1548676  
Old 01-16-2011, 06:33 AM
  #241  
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 341
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

RTJW
Good job, I like your mods. Excellent. hope the maiden goes well. Please let us all know how it went?
Nosram
Old 01-16-2011, 10:32 AM
  #242  
My Feedback: (8)
 
Chris Moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 1,366
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

I love the decal on the fin

Thanks!
Old 01-16-2011, 11:09 AM
  #243  
My Feedback: (45)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 2,861
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

Chris,

It is a must. The plane flies much better with the F3A Unlimited decal on the tail. Same goes for my 2 meters.

Arch
Old 01-16-2011, 12:45 PM
  #244  
Member
 
stmdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jerusalem, ISRAEL
Posts: 69
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

and how can i get that sticker i didnt see it on the site...

thanks
Old 01-16-2011, 12:49 PM
  #245  
Member
 
stmdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jerusalem, ISRAEL
Posts: 69
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

this is my aileron installation:
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	ge96197.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	191.4 KB
ID:	1548946   Click image for larger version

Name:	rm38705.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	212.7 KB
ID:	1548947   Click image for larger version

Name:	ch95707.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	204.5 KB
ID:	1548948  
Old 01-16-2011, 12:52 PM
  #246  
Member
 
stmdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jerusalem, ISRAEL
Posts: 69
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

1. changed the hinges to bigger ones.
2. the stab servo with the Futaba Servo Arm Set.
3. the rudder accepts a std servo as well.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	nl30722.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	217.1 KB
ID:	1548949   Click image for larger version

Name:	dy77947.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	445.5 KB
ID:	1548950   Click image for larger version

Name:	ej14347.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	216.8 KB
ID:	1548951  
Old 01-22-2011, 08:57 PM
  #247  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: , CA
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

Got a couple more flights on my new Wind today. Very impressive. Super smooth and tracks great.

What have most people found best for props? I'm on the recommended Hacker motor with a 16x12, how does that compare with the other recommended prop (17x8) or any other size? I'm definitely picking up some speed on downlines even with 10% brake set up on the Ice, and it also seems that the plane slows down more than I would like on entering uplines even if I apply a lot of power perhaps the larger lesser-pitch prop would help on both. (Either that or I just have to fly slower on the level bits!)

I tried flying both with and without the "lift generators" on the landing gear. With the lift generators on, there was less roll coupling in fact reduced to almost nothing but it also introduced a slight pull to the belly. Didn't really notice any appreciable difference in knife edge lift either way. Not sure which way I'll end up going.

Nosram, is yours almost ready?

Rick

Old 01-23-2011, 05:43 AM
  #248  
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 341
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

RJTW
Its very close now, I'm just very slooooow! All I have to do is balance it and set the throws. We will be on vacation in Virginia until early Febuary, so it will not fly until we get back
What throws are you using for pattern flying?
Old 01-23-2011, 07:53 AM
  #249  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fort Payne, AL
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

Arch and all:

I bought the WindE 50 as a package deat; recommended Hacker motor, and 5S battery pack.  I may have missed your post, but I know you tried the 5S packs initially, and felt the plane was underpowered.  Did you ever find a suitable prop with that setup which seemed to work best?

George
Old 01-23-2011, 11:29 AM
  #250  
My Feedback: (46)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bridgewater, NJ
Posts: 948
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Sebart Wind 50E

George,

I had an Angel S 50 (6 lbs) that flew just fine on 5S. APC 15X10 and Torque Motor. I also have a 6.75 lb Osiris that flys just fine on 5S with a Hacker A50 12S on a Carbon Fiber PT Models 16X10 prop. I can fly a wide open Masters sequence with it no problem. In heavy winds it might be a bit of a struggle, but most planes that size and weight will be anyway.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.