Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Welcome to Club SAITO !

Old 11-03-2019, 03:36 AM
  #43301  
My Feedback: (102)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 20,370
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Glowgeek
Dave, did you do a 115 baseline run with a glow plug on that prop? Be great to see an apples to apples comparison.
Thanks Lonnie, I can do that quite easily

PS, I keep a One Note file of rpm, fuel, plug etc.
Max rpm @ half tank==8,340
Idle rpm @ half tank==1,990, LS needle was perfect as received.

Prop===Xoar 15 x 8

Last edited by Hobbsy; 11-03-2019 at 03:57 AM. Reason: Add content
Old 11-03-2019, 03:56 AM
  #43302  
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,842
Received 93 Likes on 85 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Captcrunch44
Holy shoot those Expensive I have too wait on that one.

I had to sell my FA-100 to buy mine.
Old 11-03-2019, 04:07 AM
  #43303  
My Feedback: (102)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 20,370
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jesse Open
Here is a pic of the inside of that billet- CNC machined anodized aluminum case. I would prefer they put the screws in from the backside. Also, if you buy one, ditch that carbon zin c 9 volt battery! If you happen to leave the switch on and put the tach away, That battery will likely leak and corrode the insides along with the case. Better to use a quality alkaline or lithium 9volt







Yep, those are the only type that I use. They come with both a Tinnerman style push nut and a thicker,nylon
push on. They also have a very pronounced barb. Actually hold very well,snug with absolute minimal play.
I guess if that were not the case I would have installed a brass shim. Never a problem.



Those screws look like 4-40 x ..375', surely they're not 6-32's, eh.
Old 11-03-2019, 04:08 AM
  #43304  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,645
Received 65 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jesse Open
Here is a pic of the inside of that billet- CNC machined anodized aluminum case. I would prefer they put the screws in from the backside. Also, if you buy one, ditch that carbon zin c 9 volt battery! If you happen to leave the switch on and put the tach away, That battery will likely leak and corrode the insides along with the case. Better to use a quality alkaline or lithium 9volt
No 9v battery sled or foam to keep the battery from rattling around? Hmmm
Old 11-03-2019, 04:39 AM
  #43305  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dysart, IA
Posts: 1,730
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

So if I take the guts out of a cheaper tack and then put them in a aluminum case. Does that mean I could get that much for a tack.
Or are they that great of a tack to warrant that kind of expense

Last edited by Captcrunch44; 11-03-2019 at 04:44 AM.
Old 11-03-2019, 05:08 AM
  #43306  
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,842
Received 93 Likes on 85 Posts
Default


Originally Posted by Hobbsy
Those screws look like 4-40 x ..375', surely they're not 6-32's, eh.
.135" 6-32
Old 11-03-2019, 05:08 AM
  #43307  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,645
Received 65 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Here's my take on tachs. Used to be you had to spend a lot to get an accurate tach that would work on an overcast day. That was before china cloned the circuitry. Nowdays tachs range in price from $15 - $150 and all work well with sufficient light. How accurate is my cheapo GT Power tach? Don't know but it can't be off by enough to make any difference for my purposes. I just use it to make sure an engine is pproducing the power it should and to richen the mix from peak. An error of +/- 50 rpms doesn't matter because it's a relative measurement. My cheapo tach doesn't work all that well in low light, like at dusk or dawn. That's fine, I can wait for the sun or shine a flashlight through the prop if I'm desperate.

PS, the GT Power tach is very small, lightweight and fits in a shirt pocket. If it dies it costs $15 to replace.

Last edited by Glowgeek; 11-03-2019 at 05:14 AM.
Old 11-03-2019, 05:14 AM
  #43308  
My Feedback: (102)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 20,370
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jesse Open



.135" 6-32
6-32 it is, that is some heavy armor. Mine died in the rain. I can't resurrect it.
Old 11-03-2019, 05:19 AM
  #43309  
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,842
Received 93 Likes on 85 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Glowgeek
No 9v battery sled or foam to keep the battery from rattling around? Hmmm

Wasn't but there is now. A piece of 1/2 mm urethane.
The fit is close, very little space for the battery to move. This case is SOLID! The older version was plastic and the cost was near the same.



Solid billet, CNC cut.
Old 11-03-2019, 05:22 AM
  #43310  
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,842
Received 93 Likes on 85 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Captcrunch44
So if I take the guts out of a cheaper tack and then put them in a aluminum case. Does that mean I could get that much for a tack.
Or are they that great of a tack to warrant that kind of expense

Give it a try
Probably cost you about $200 to duplicate the case, but you won't have the same guts when done!

This one takes solid readings from 6 feet away!

Like Isaid in the first post, I didn't NEED it. But I sure like having it.The 40 year old Heathkit that was my first tach works great! Far more stable than the current Chinese offerings to boot! The 30 year old original TNC is my first digital . I still prefer the analog meter .Then again, I never take a tach to the field .

An extremely high quality, excellent performing, durable level ,USA made device. Well worth the asking price imho. Just saw an older, used, plastic cased Fromec sell for $135 on RCG. It was snapped up very quickly .
I won't miss the Saito 100 in the least.

Last edited by Jesse Open; 11-03-2019 at 05:38 AM.
Old 11-03-2019, 05:34 AM
  #43311  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dysart, IA
Posts: 1,730
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Not to nit pick but for that kind of coin you would think it would be water proof.

Last edited by Captcrunch44; 11-03-2019 at 05:39 AM.
Old 11-03-2019, 05:41 AM
  #43312  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,645
Received 65 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Solid readings from 6' away is impressive! Probably works good in low light conditions too.
Old 11-03-2019, 05:42 AM
  #43313  
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,842
Received 93 Likes on 85 Posts
Default

Why?

It is very water resistant as-is . I could make it water proof but don't use mine under water.

Too funny!
Old 11-03-2019, 05:51 AM
  #43314  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dysart, IA
Posts: 1,730
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Well I have been known to fly in the rain
had to replace servos in the hog last night do to moisture
they were cheap servos. I put better ones in this time.
Old 11-03-2019, 05:58 AM
  #43315  
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,842
Received 93 Likes on 85 Posts
Default

I would have no trouble using it in the rain
No trouble at all.

I fly in the rain too but can't recall the last time I needed a tach at the field , let alone needed one in the rain! More concerned with the transmitter.

Try a plastic baggie?
Keeps fuel off of electronics too.
When camping out on the motorcycle, I kept everything in plastic baggies. Watch, wallet, radios.
Especially in spring and winter.

Last edited by Jesse Open; 11-03-2019 at 06:10 AM.
Old 11-03-2019, 06:09 AM
  #43316  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dysart, IA
Posts: 1,730
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Yeah
have been changing props a lot lately and have missed my tack at the field.
Going out today and will have to take the ACE. With me.
So I have something
Old 11-03-2019, 06:16 AM
  #43317  
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,842
Received 93 Likes on 85 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Captcrunch44
Yeah
have been changing props a lot lately and have missed my tack at the field.
Going out today and will have to take the ACE. With me.
So I have something

I like the big scale on the Ace, I also modified mine so I can calibrate all scales accurately with a separate potentiometer. The original only had one pot and the calibration only good on one scale, at one point

Is it waterproof? Which one is?
Old 11-03-2019, 06:28 AM
  #43318  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dysart, IA
Posts: 1,730
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Tack master two
it works well and no itís not waterproof.
Old 11-03-2019, 07:22 AM
  #43319  
My Feedback: (102)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 20,370
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Captcrunch44
Tack master two
it works well and no it’s not waterproof.

I have had this one since the early 90's, most likely built in a house hold in Mo.,
Tom Runge farmed a lot of the circuit building out to local residents in Higginsville, Mo..

Last edited by Hobbsy; 11-03-2019 at 07:24 AM. Reason: Add content
Old 11-03-2019, 07:24 AM
  #43320  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3,645
Received 65 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

A thing of beauty! how's the range?

Last edited by Glowgeek; 11-03-2019 at 07:26 AM.
Old 11-03-2019, 07:29 AM
  #43321  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dysart, IA
Posts: 1,730
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Got mine off of eBay looks like new
it works just hard too read numbers. I donít see so good up close anymore
Old 11-03-2019, 07:36 AM
  #43322  
My Feedback: (102)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 20,370
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Glowgeek
A thing of beauty! how's the range?
Now, that I do not know, I guess it's not a criteria I would pay attention to. I will give that a little test and report back. I also have the VoltMaster about the same age.
Old 11-03-2019, 07:36 AM
  #43323  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 10,000
Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

build more, less flying, exercise those eyeballs for up close instead of long distance watching of your tiny planes.
Old 11-03-2019, 07:40 AM
  #43324  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dysart, IA
Posts: 1,730
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by acdii
build more, less flying, exercise those eyeballs for up close instead of long distance watching of your tiny planes.
you noticed that the older I get the bigger the planes.
take the Rascel for instance lol
Old 11-03-2019, 07:46 AM
  #43325  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 10,000
Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Captcrunch44


you noticed that the older I get the bigger the planes.
take the Rascel for instance lol
That can pretty much be said for all of us. LOL. My smallest plane I ever built is the Liberty Sport. That one will be fun to fly, as long as I don't blink.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.