Notices
JTEC / RADIOWAVE Support Get all your questions regarding JTEC/RADIOWAVE products answered here!

Extra 330lx set-up

Old 07-30-2008, 09:25 AM
  #1  
AmericanSpectre505
Thread Starter
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,238
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Extra 330lx set-up

I am planning on putting two 5955's in the tail for rudder,...maybe three? One per elevator half (5645's) and two per aileron,..maybe three (5645's). DA-150 with standard mufflers, power box Royal, two Duralites 4000+mah packs and two recievers.


Questions& Suggestions:
1.Will this plane balance out fairly easy with the rudder servos in the tail?
2.I am trying to reduce the servo total for weight and total current draw, is it worth it?
3.DA-150 performance on mufflers,...or need pipes? Seemed ok on my first one,..past posts suggest pipes.
4.CF gear & tubes
5.The plane is finished and ready to fly,...wann'a get it right this time!

Been away from IMAC since 2003,....would like suggestions for this big bird. I have flown Carden Caps my entire time, one JTEC 330LX lost in 2003 before the Don Lowe Masters,...battery failure due to wrong servos on Y-harnesses, I4C Isolators..only had 4 flights on it.

Thanks,

Bill Holsten
2-Time Don Lowe Masters Competitor, etc.
Current F3A/FAI pilot


Old 07-30-2008, 09:32 AM
  #2  
krayzc-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 7,415
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

.
Old 07-30-2008, 10:06 AM
  #3  
al
 
al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: mooresville, NC
Posts: 312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

Bill,

You should have no problem putting two 5955's in the tail, that is actually becoming more common now and balance should be fine. If you use 5645's on the elevator I would probably suggest using two. If you were to go with a Hitec 5955, JR 8611, or Futaba 9156 I would say one on each elevator would be fine. As for the Ailerons if your looking for an imac setup I would strongly suggest three servos per wing and again I may suggest a higher torque servo such as the ones I listed before. Using the the three 5955's per wing will give you a great roll, extremely crisp snaps, and snap rotation exactly when you want it to.

A DA 150 on standard mufflers will fly the plane great, just loud. If you are looking at making the investment into canisters I would just say spend the extra couple of bucks and get the KS 1090's they add about 400rpm and are unbelievable in the airplane, not to mention they are the quietest setup. If you want to go with CF the landing gear will save you 12oz, wing tube will save you about 9oz, and the tail tube will only save about 1oz. CF is a quick way to save some weight and it looks cool.


Kevin
Old 07-30-2008, 11:41 AM
  #4  
AmericanSpectre505
Thread Starter
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,238
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

Hey Kevin,

I was going to use the 5645's because that's what I had and stuck in it a couple years ago,...was trying not to change everything out. However, if that's what I need to do,...thats what I will do. Are the KS-1090's the standard canister size or are they full lenght pipes,...what's the estimated dollar amout? I built the pipe tunnel in several years ago,..plan on using it just want to get the plane in the air for now. I was talking with Don S. about his DA-150 on pipes and he seems to like the power,..the older full lenght pipe set up's were quite finakey.

Would the pipes be necessary on the DA-170 or just outrageous w/pipes? I would love to run a 29x11 narrow 3 blade?

Yes,...I do plan on returning to fly IMAC in 2009, and continue to fly F3A\FAI together next year.

PS: you guys still sell those nifty wing thumb bolts, I need some? The CF componets,...who should I contact for that stuff? 40% Panzel?


Thanks again,
Bill Holsten
Old 07-30-2008, 05:14 PM
  #5  
dbcaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 341
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

I will second what Al said on the 5645's. They have a 3 pole motor and nowhere near the torque needed for the elevators. You should use nothing less than a 5955 on everything. The gears on the 5955's will last forever and you will have much better precision and torque with them. You should be able to sell the 5645's and the extra money for the 5955's is well worth the gain.
Old 07-30-2008, 08:02 PM
  #6  
jtec radiowave kid
Senior Member
 
jtec radiowave kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 126
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

Bill,

If you have flown the airplane with the 5645's and liked how it flew then I would say then go ahead with that setup, except still use two per elevator. I honestly have never flown one with the 5645's so I dont know, but I will say I have flown them with the 5945's and I thought I needed a little bit more for how I fly. Again this is all personal opinion so its really up to you.

As for the KS 1090's they are the full length tuned pipes that look like a baseball bat. I have been running mine at a stock header length and actually stock needle settings on the engine and have not had any peaky feeling. I know the greves are a little more notorious for the peaky feeling.

My next 300 that we will be putting together shortly will have a DA-170 on KS 1090's and I expect it to be outragous. A DA-150 on KS 1090's is absolutely incredible so I can only imagine what the 170 will be like. I have flown a da-170 on our standard mufflers and it had power like the DA-150 on KS 1090's.

Also 29 x 12n Mejzlik 3 blade is an awesome prop for the airplane. That is what Gerald Neel and I fly on ours.

For the Carbon Fiber Gear you can get it directly from us or graphtech, it is $100.00 for the 3.2m set which I think is an incredible price compaired to some of the other brands. As for the Carbon fiber wing tube I would suggest just getting that from Troy Built, they have a great price on them and that is what I have in mine.

Finally, the wing knobs. We do not have any in stock but you can purchase them from any Ace Hardware store, Some Lowes stores, or granger. The new extra 300's come with them so we have not stocked them in a while.

Let me know if you have any more questions. Also if you want I have some pictures of how to set certain things up so if you want to see something just let me know.

Kevin
Old 07-31-2008, 07:49 AM
  #7  
AmericanSpectre505
Thread Starter
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,238
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

Hello Kevin,

Thanks for the info.

The 5645's flew the plane just fine for 5 years ago,....I agree the 5955's or 7955's will serve the application better and I can reduce the amount of servos in the tail. I am guessing the K&S 1090's will be around $500-$600 with everything. I will order the gear from JTEC and the tubes from Troy Built.

I would like to see some photos of where you have things arranged internally and the pipe mounting application you used. Are you flying yours on 2.4Ghz? Glad to hear Gerald N. is still flying,...haven't seen those guys in a long time.

Thanks for the great support!

Bill Holsten
Old 07-31-2008, 09:17 AM
  #8  
jtec radiowave kid
Senior Member
 
jtec radiowave kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 126
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

Bill, sorry I forgot to say about how much the KS 1090's are. The complete system with 90mm drop flex headers will run somewhere in the range of $550-$575. I will try to upload some photos later of the install.

As for 2.4ghz I have been running it on the 2.7m Extra and have been really happy. I believe the new 3.2m will have 2.4ghz in it.
Old 07-31-2008, 09:37 AM
  #9  
AmericanSpectre505
Thread Starter
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,238
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

Hey Kevin,

Ahhh,...no problem there, I figured it would be around those numbers.[8D] What are you using for power management,..Smart-Fly, Power box, etc. I was planning on using the Power Box royal,...your suggestion?

Thanks,
Bill Holsten
Old 07-31-2008, 04:02 PM
  #10  
al
 
al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: mooresville, NC
Posts: 312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

Bill, we actually just use two receivers and divide the airplane in half with throttle on one and rudder on the other. We have been in situations that we feel that two receivers was the only thing that saved the airplane. I will try and get those pictures to you a little later, the photos I have are to large so I have to shrink them down and we have a faster internet connection at home.

Kevin
Old 07-31-2008, 06:10 PM
  #11  
jtec radiowave kid
Senior Member
 
jtec radiowave kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 126
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

ok here are the pictures
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge96436.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	63.0 KB
ID:	1001522   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hd94502.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	77.4 KB
ID:	1001523   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ch97827.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	55.5 KB
ID:	1001524   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bv60786.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	46.7 KB
ID:	1001525  
Old 07-31-2008, 07:22 PM
  #12  
gregman50
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Gastonia, NC
Posts: 338
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

Kevin or Al- I don't want to change the thread but does anyone have any pics of the 2.7 Extra 300 besides the one on the website, I'm trying real hard to decide on an airframe here, it's between the QQ 102, AW Extra 260 or the Jtec 2.7 Extra 300. Someone help me please!!!!!! Forgot to mention, I'm local to you here, I live in Mt. Holly only 40 minutes away.
Old 07-31-2008, 08:02 PM
  #13  
al
 
al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: mooresville, NC
Posts: 312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

Greg,

come over and see one for yourself. We'd be happy to show you one or two or 3. We had a customer stop by yesterday. He bought 2 he liked them so much. You can check out the quality for yourself. As for the way it flys. you won't be disapointed.

Al
Old 07-31-2008, 08:20 PM
  #14  
al
 
al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: mooresville, NC
Posts: 312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

Here are a couple pictures of the prototype on electric flown by Andrew Jesky. others are of the production planes

Al
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig13804.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	41.5 KB
ID:	1001589   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yt62084.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	72.8 KB
ID:	1001590   Click image for larger version

Name:	Af88107.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	80.2 KB
ID:	1001591   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zt52384.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	109.2 KB
ID:	1001592   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ju14099.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	88.5 KB
ID:	1001593   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tj74053.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	81.3 KB
ID:	1001594   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pr26247.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	72.2 KB
ID:	1001595  
Old 07-31-2008, 09:17 PM
  #15  
jtec radiowave kid
Senior Member
 
jtec radiowave kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 126
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

here are a couple of pics of customers airplanes that I have on my pc.

the first two are of a 2.7m that has a DA85 and KS 1090 tuned pipe. Jon actually did a thread on here showing his install of the KS 1090 in it.

The three pics after that are from one of our customers David Thompson who is shown in the one picture.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt58034.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	92.7 KB
ID:	1001665   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wr56101.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	1001666   Click image for larger version

Name:	Uz68761.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	32.2 KB
ID:	1001667   Click image for larger version

Name:	Oh13839.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	41.8 KB
ID:	1001668   Click image for larger version

Name:	Te48466.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	54.0 KB
ID:	1001669  
Old 08-01-2008, 07:57 AM
  #16  
AmericanSpectre505
Thread Starter
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,238
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

Hey Kevin,

Thanks for the photo's thats a big help. I also looked at Don S. build blog for his Extra, so I have some good idea's,....greatly appreciate it.

I ran a two reciever set up some years ago in my 40% Cap's and it worked good,...but far less servos in those than in the JTEC Extra. I eventually used the I4C Isolators with each reciever with two batteries per Isolator. I dont' think with my 9Z-WC2 I can do that,...I tried it with the first Extra that went in. However,there were some issues with the servos know one knew about like you cannot put the 5645 on Y-harnesses with out having a resistor removed. The servos would constantly fight themselves looking for center. Secondly,...at the time the program speed said .15 to .20,...found out from tech support that 18 was about it. if you went lower than that it aggrevated the centering issue even worse with Y-harnesses. The end results was on the second flight it pulled the 2-4200Mah NICMH packs to the point they dumped. I had a seperate battery on the reciever,...but no power to the servos....a beautiful down lineline all the way to the asphauldt...[:-]

Anyway,..I think I will try the Powerbox Royal with a 2 reciever setup with the LCD readout,...pretty kool!


Again,... Thanks for the great support!!

Bill Holsten
Old 08-04-2008, 08:36 PM
  #17  
al
 
al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: mooresville, NC
Posts: 312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

Bill,

A couple of matchboxes ( FUTABA MSA-10)will work for multiple servos on each wing. Don't use y harnesses. The matchboxes let you setup all the servos to the same throw and centering so they won't fight each other

That is what we used with our WC2 and 13 servos. You will also save a bunch of moneyusing the matchboxes

Al
Old 08-06-2008, 08:33 AM
  #18  
AmericanSpectre505
Thread Starter
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,238
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

Hello Al and Kevin,

Question; Are you using seperate batteries with the MSA-10's for the wings and stabs or just one or two master packs plugged into the reciever's?

Thanks,
Bill Holsten
Old 08-06-2008, 10:57 AM
  #19  
al
 
al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: mooresville, NC
Posts: 312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

Bill,

We are just using one battery to each rx. We divide the plane into the right side and left and set up the rx's that way. All the power runs through the RX's. we have never had any issues doing it this way.

Al
Old 08-06-2008, 01:52 PM
  #20  
AmericanSpectre505
Thread Starter
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,238
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

Hey Al,

I use to do it that way to,...I used 2 Duralite 3600Mah just for extra precaution. I never had a problem with it either,...but I wasn't running digital servos then and didn't know if the recievers would handle 20+ amps of current loaded.

If it still works,...will save me some $$ for sure.

Thanks for the support!

Bill Holsten
Old 08-07-2008, 08:21 AM
  #21  
al
 
al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: mooresville, NC
Posts: 312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

Hi Bill,

We have been using digital servos just about as long as they have been available. The only issue I have ever had is we let the smoke out on a couple and we had to send the servos back to get the smoke put back in. ( basically the servos were fighting each other)

Not once did it ever effect the rx's.

The head of futaba at GP uses one rx with a NiMH pack on his 40% no power boxes or any extra stuff. He (frank Noll) flies compition with that setup

Al
Old 08-07-2008, 11:53 AM
  #22  
AmericanSpectre505
Thread Starter
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,238
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Extra 330lx set-up

Al,

That's good information for people to know!

Frank can use one RX using a 14MZ with the 14 channel RX and servo sync multiple servos,..sure makes big plane stuff much more simple. I haven't found the money tree yet to afford a 14MZ and I no longer have any sponsors,..not that Futaba was ever one of them. So,...for now the 9Z-WC2 will just have to do.[&o]

Thanks for all the support!

Bill Holsten

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.