Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Jeti-duplex-ds-16-2.4-ghz

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Jeti-duplex-ds-16-2.4-ghz

Old 07-27-2017, 12:02 AM
  #3201  
Mi-25
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hong Kong, CHINA
Posts: 221
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

NWS = Nose Wheel Steering..
Old 07-27-2017, 02:45 AM
  #3202  
HarryC
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: private, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,672
Likes: 0
Received 26 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gapellegrini
what is nws?

it looks like the trim is problematic on turbine. Nobody uses it.
Jeti trim is not a problem on a turbine, I use the throttle trim with its values adjusted to have just one step from off to run.
nws is nosewheel steering, I use the rudder stick trim to trim the nosewheel and disable the trim for the rudder itself, as normally jets do not need rudder trim.
Old 07-27-2017, 02:51 AM
  #3203  
gapellegrini
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SP, BRAZIL
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Thanks for your help guys

HarryC how much you have ond throttle max and min value and on trim in digital trim menu?
Old 07-27-2017, 06:26 AM
  #3204  
gooseF22
 
gooseF22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,603
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gapellegrini
what is nws?

it looks like the trim is problematic on turbine. Nobody uses it.
NWS is nose wheel steering
some use the trim in fast mode, but I never liked it.. I can find the kill switch quickly in the heat of the battle.. I had to kill a gasser last week using it and do an emergency landing when something broke.
Old 07-27-2017, 07:10 AM
  #3205  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,437
Received 42 Likes on 32 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gapellegrini
what is nws?

it looks like the trim is problematic on turbine. Nobody uses it.
It's not problematic, just unnecessary. You only need hi and low with nothing in between. My trim was set to 100% step with one click on and one click off so I finally just moved it to a two position on off locking switch.

Last edited by causeitflies; 07-27-2017 at 07:54 AM.
Old 07-27-2017, 07:33 AM
  #3206  
ww2birds
My Feedback: (14)
 
ww2birds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Katonah, NY
Posts: 1,368
Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Enjoying this thread to learn more about the Jeti system...

I think the JR guys have the throttle trim idea right .. it's the only analog trim on the TX so its position can be seen visually. I emulate that on an 18MZ by using the slider next to the throttle as the throttle trim. Perhaps the same technique would be useful on the Jeti system.

Dave
Old 07-27-2017, 07:53 AM
  #3207  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,437
Received 42 Likes on 32 Posts
Default

I use the rudder trim only for nose wheel trim. I have never trimmed the rudder of a jet in flight. Now I need to find a use for the throttle trim. Gyro gain maybe? Unlike a knob it can be a different value for each plane without worrying about moving it.
Old 07-27-2017, 09:10 AM
  #3208  
ZB
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , FL
Posts: 354
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

For first time we can finally show the Jeti DS-24 Standard transmitter. As you can see we have new sliders and all buttons on the front are polished.

Jeti Duplex DS-24 2.4GHz/900MHz w/Telemetry Transmitter Only Radio (Pre-Order, Due Summer 2017, Full Price $1895.00)


Click image for larger version

Name:	jeti-ds-243.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	54.8 KB
ID:	2225810
Click image for larger version

Name:	jeti-ds-24.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	175.0 KB
ID:	2225811


Click image for larger version

Name:	jeti-ds-244.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	96.1 KB
ID:	2225812
Old 07-27-2017, 12:39 PM
  #3209  
wfield0455
My Feedback: (7)
 
wfield0455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 1,299
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ww2birds
Enjoying this thread to learn more about the Jeti system...

I think the JR guys have the throttle trim idea right .. it's the only analog trim on the TX so its position can be seen visually. I emulate that on an 18MZ by using the slider next to the throttle as the throttle trim. Perhaps the same technique would be useful on the Jeti system.

Dave
Nahh,, just get over the idea of needing (or wanting) an analog throttle trim and embrace the way the transmitters feature make it the simplest to control your power plant, a switch..I used to think the same thing but after changing to a switch to control run/stop on my power plants I don't miss (or even want) an analog throttle trim anymore I use a Safety Switch to control my power plants now and since it needs to be lifted slightly to change positions there is no possibility of an accidental shutdown.. On turbines, my throttle trim does nothing, I set the switch to the "start/idle", position and advance the throttle and it starts. At the end oft he flight, I flip the switch to the "stop" position and it shuts down. Same for my gas airplanes except throttle trim still functions but is rarely ever touched. My throttle trim is only used for adjusting the base idle speed and maybe gets raised or lowered one click to suit how the engine sounds to me on a given day. I set the switch to the "run" position and start the engine and flip it to the "stop" position to kill the engine at the end of the flight. My Safety switch stops the engine by both disabling the ignition and closing the throttle in case either function fails. I also use it as a "Throttle disable" on my electrics to prevent accidentally bumping the throttle and having the prop spin up.. Same switch used the same way on every airplane and even helicopters..

Once I looked at the functions I had available and took advantage of them and stopped trying to make the digital throttle trim act like my JR12X analog trim I was much happier, So much so I would never go back to an analog throttle trim again..

Last edited by wfield0455; 07-27-2017 at 12:44 PM.
Old 07-27-2017, 01:06 PM
  #3210  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,437
Received 42 Likes on 32 Posts
Default

I would definitely want throttle trim on a glow engine if I flew them, which I don't. I'll keep it for a gasser too along with the kill switch. But for a turbine there is no need at all.
Old 07-27-2017, 01:33 PM
  #3211  
ww2birds
My Feedback: (14)
 
ww2birds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Katonah, NY
Posts: 1,368
Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Good thought on the safety switch. I always wondered if I'd regret using a switch if it got bumped to off while flying...
Old 07-28-2017, 11:23 AM
  #3212  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,698
Received 85 Likes on 74 Posts
Default

Jeti offers a 2 position locking switch so cant simply bump it. You have to lift it to move it.
Old 07-28-2017, 12:30 PM
  #3213  
gooseF22
 
gooseF22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,603
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I second what wayne and bob say here. Throttle trim is only used to trim a motor idle up and down. The kill switch I use is the locking type. It also closes the throttle on a glow. It kills the ignition on a gasser. It locks the throttle on an electric and kills the turbine. On a glider it raises the spoilers with the throttle back in crow or if it has a power plant it kills it. I Don't do Helicopters. It arms my quad motors too. Fwiw
Old 07-28-2017, 04:22 PM
  #3214  
Bobneal1
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chester, VA
Posts: 262
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

The Jeti 2 position switch is a miniature version of the engine cutoff switch on Boeing and Airbus airliners.
Old 07-29-2017, 02:37 AM
  #3215  
CraigG
My Feedback: (40)
 
CraigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sautee Nacoochee, GA
Posts: 2,092
Received 35 Likes on 21 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by causeitflies
I use the rudder trim only for nose wheel trim. I have never trimmed the rudder of a jet in flight.
Mark,
How do you set up your NWS and rudder channels to accomplish this and also have the NWS disabled when retracted?
Thanks.....Craig
Old 07-29-2017, 02:42 AM
  #3216  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,994
Received 161 Likes on 144 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CraigG
Mark,
How do you set up your NWS and rudder channels to accomplish this and also have the NWS disabled when retracted?
Thanks.....Craig
Just go to the trim page in fine tuning, select the Rudder you will see all the servo assignment....just choose your nose wheel....done.

To have the steering disable I just did a mix, select the gear switch, when down it apply the mix at 100% up it disable that mix. Need to switch out of global

I also have another mix that give me more nose wheel steering throw with the flaps up...for taxing, Flap to takeoff/landing give me less so it's not too sensitive, my flaps/cruise is also my flight modes.....

Last edited by Dansy; 07-29-2017 at 02:48 AM.
Old 07-29-2017, 04:49 AM
  #3217  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,698
Received 85 Likes on 74 Posts
Default

Craig
as mentioned just assign your NWS to the rudder trim, create a rudder to NWS steering mix with the gear switch as your on/off switch. in dual rates you will see your NWS. Using the spring loaded switch to control your dual rate, set it up so when you pull the switch you get a high rate for steering on the ground, when you release the switch have it go to your low T/O rate that way you can never forget and over control your steering during T/O!

Last edited by Bob_B; 07-29-2017 at 05:08 AM.
Old 07-29-2017, 05:20 AM
  #3218  
jonkoppisch
My Feedback: (162)
 
jonkoppisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,942
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I like linking the nose gear dual rates to my flaps switch. No flaps, high rates. Takeoff or landing flap, low rates. If I remember right, I also set the nose gear end points to 0 for gear up
Old 07-29-2017, 05:50 AM
  #3219  
gooseF22
 
gooseF22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,603
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bob_B
Craig
as mentioned just assign your NWS to the rudder trim, create a rudder to NWS steering mix with the gear switch as your on/off switch. in dual rates you will see your NWS. Using the spring loaded switch to control your dual rate, set it up so when you pull the switch you get a high rate for steering on the ground, when you release the switch have it go to your low T/O rate that way you can never forget and over control your steering during T/O!
+1

I have also experimented with expo on my NWS too.. not sure I like it, when you hit the second part of the curve.. giddy up.. but it works
Old 07-29-2017, 05:53 AM
  #3220  
gooseF22
 
gooseF22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,603
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bobneal1
The Jeti 2 position switch is a miniature version of the engine cutoff switch on Boeing and Airbus airliners.
Kinda... I wish it lit up when I had a fire tho... LOL
Old 07-29-2017, 08:35 AM
  #3221  
CraigG
My Feedback: (40)
 
CraigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sautee Nacoochee, GA
Posts: 2,092
Received 35 Likes on 21 Posts
Default

Thanks Dansy and everybody else for those suggestions. I had messed with Digital Trim before (without success) and just now figured out that the little icons under the "Trim" column represent the trim control buttons (and their location on the TX) and the "Function" is what is actually being trimmed. Got it through my thick head that "Rudder" trim can be assigned to other controls and referred to as such in the Function column. I'm slow but trainable.

Craig
Old 07-29-2017, 06:02 PM
  #3222  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,437
Received 42 Likes on 32 Posts
Default

Craig,
As you see there are a few ways to do it. I just use a mix switch (gear) and expo. Then assign the "rudder" trim to nose wheel.
Old 07-30-2017, 03:00 PM
  #3223  
roydefiant
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Eden Prairie, MN,
Posts: 1,053
Likes: 0
Received 35 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Question about servo balance?
So my nose wheel steering was set up perfect and next day noticed steering way off, thought maybe I jumped a spline on servo arm so took off arm but OK.
Then noticed under servo setup my nose wheel steering that despite subttrim at 0 the servo balancer is showing 50% which limits steering in one direction. I do not have a knob assigned to nose wheel steering as the jet tracks dead straight.

How do I get this servo balancer back to 0 so I can get full direction in the other direction. The CLR or auto buttons not affecting the setting

Thanks

Roy
Old 07-30-2017, 04:18 PM
  #3224  
roydefiant
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Eden Prairie, MN,
Posts: 1,053
Likes: 0
Received 35 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

By the way I did watch the esprit you tube video on servo setup and balancer and with the rudder stick can move it to 0 on the servo balancer but it does not lock there and keeps going back to 50

Roy
Old 07-30-2017, 05:23 PM
  #3225  
wfield0455
My Feedback: (7)
 
wfield0455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 1,299
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by roydefiant
By the way I did watch the esprit you tube video on servo setup and balancer and with the rudder stick can move it to 0 on the servo balancer but it does not lock there and keeps going back to 50

Roy
I'm not sure why you're looking at the servo balancer and I'm also not sure if you have non zero values in the servo balancer or if it's simply selecting the 50% point by default. If the latter, look at the servo monitor and I suspect your steering channel is set to 50% somehow...

Is this a new problem with an old setup or is this a new setup ? Did you implement steering with a mix or simply assign the steering function to your rudder stick ? If a mix is it controlled by a switch ? If so, is it a 2 or 3 position switch and how is it defined ?(on/off check mark,, proportional +/-100, etc) Do you have a function curve assigned to the steering function ?

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.