Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Best beginner aircraft...

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Best beginner aircraft...

Old 02-07-2009, 01:08 AM
997Porsche

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best beginner aircraft...

I'm sure this has been covered here numerous times..but I'm somewhat in the dark on R/C aviation..

I'm a commercial pilot by trade, but I'm thinking of getting into R/C airplanes as another hobby.

I've been told (even in pilot training) flying R/C is harder than flying a real airplane... and with all of the automatic pilot equipment we have I'm sure they're right.

I am thinking learing to fly R/C is almost the same as learning to fly the real deal...starting with a high wing, slower speed airplane to get a feel for the controls and flight in general..

Any input is helpful.

thanks

CN
Old 02-07-2009, 01:12 AM
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts
Default RE: Best beginner aircraft...

I've put together a list of planes that make good trainers and second planes. All of them on the list are proven planes that are well suited for successfully letting students learn to fly, or advance to a second plane. Check out the list here
[link=http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_4537845/tm.htm] Looking for a trainer- what's available. (Updated 01-03-2009) [/link]

Hope this helps

Ken
Old 02-07-2009, 01:20 AM
997Porsche

That's what I was hoping to find.. thanks for sharing.
Old 02-07-2009, 07:29 AM
draftman1

Its best to also find a local club, see what the guys are using there. Also some clubs have a club trainer plane for you to try. just make sure you work with a good instructor. Being a real pilot, the only advantage is you know about aerodynamics. Flying RC is much different, because your not up there. Its a great hobby and I wish you well
Old 02-07-2009, 07:45 AM
xcfds65
My Feedback: (10)